IMPORTANT: You are using an old browser. You will not be able to checkout using this browser for data security reasons. Please use another browser or upgrade this one to continue. Read more.

Tomato & Pepper Automator Trays

Short Description

Your plants new best friend.

Full Description

The Automator Trays increase yields by as much as 40%. The special SRM RED(TM) material dramatically enhances the growth and yield of tomatoes, peppers, eggplants, melons and even cucumbers. The patented tray warms the soil for early root development and directs water and fertilizer to the plant roots. Helps retain soil moisture to help prevent blossom end rot. Keeps cut worms and weeds at bay. These 12" x 12" square trays are made to fit inside of the Burpee Tomato Cage for an even better growing experience. Easy to use, clean and store.
Buy this product
Item # Product
Order
Quantity
Price
Item#: 93009
Order: 1 pack (3 trays)
- +
$10.99
Buy 2 or More for $8.99 each
Add to Wish List

In Stock

Product properties

Restrictions:

Item 93009 cannot ship to: AA, AE, AK, AP, AS, CN, FM, GU, HI, MH, MP, PR, PW, VI
See all Burpee plant shipping restrictions for your state

the burpee

difference

100%

satisfaction
guaranteed

non-gmo
since 1876

Images

Customer favorite
Enlarge Photo
Print Page
Tomato & Pepper Automator Trays is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 21.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Automator trays I purchased these trays last year 2012. They look like a great idea, but more work needs to be done to have a good product! While the tomato plants were small, things were good. My plants grew to approx. 6 feet tall. Meanwhile the stems out grew the hole in the automator. This caused the automators to cut into the stems. This caused me to loss a plant before I figured out why the plant was wilting. Bottom line is the hole is too small and way to sharp. Until the hole is made a lot bigger, I suggest that before using make the hole as big as you can.
Date published: 2013-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Design Issues Go back to the drawing board. I lost 3 plants with a brisk wind which caused the stems to get cut at the opening. The hole has very sharp edges. If you manage to install without hurting your stem, better check the weather report. I am going to try taping around the hole edges to buffer the sharp edge since I invested so much in multiple trays.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very helpful For the most part I really like these. They definitely help target water, make applying fertilizer easier, and keep away the weeds. They are a little tricky to put around the plants but I've never broken a plant. I do wish they were made of heavier plastic, although I have had mine for about four years and there's a few cracks in them but they are still very functional. As for taking them out of the garden in the fall I just cut off the stem right above it and pick up.
Date published: 2012-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mixed Reviews I haven't yet seen the harvest from these trays and I do love how they conserve water and easily fertilize BUT they are horrible to get onto the plants since the slit is so tight and can easily slice right through your plant stem... would a design giving 1 cm have ruined the whole thing? I think not, but would have greatly increased my review of the product.
Date published: 2011-05-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does What It Claims These trays are easy to put around established plants. They direct water right to the roots. It would be nice if Burpee offered a organic tomato fertilizer spike that fit thru the holes. The only low nitrogen slow release organic spike I have found are to big to push thru the holes of the tray.
Date published: 2010-05-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good and Bad These do seem to work, but they have some design flaws. On the "Good" side, I live in an area which frequently has watering bans, so to these help "target" my water to the plants and not waste it in unused parts of the garden. My 3-sided vegetable cages fit just fine (but snugly) in the holes, and they keep the area around the plants weed free. My tomatoes were the only ones to really yield among my neighbors, and I believe these trays really helped. To address another reviewer's comments, you can still plant your tomatoes very deep... not sure why the reviewer had the root problem. On the "Bad" side, the drain holes are rather small and dirt does accumulate in them. The plastic is super-rigid, making them difficult to bury in the dirt and tricky to wrap around delicate seedlings (I broke two plants out of 12). Removing them at the end of the season can be difficult as well - I destroyed 3 of trays trying to get my tomato cages out of the holes. If the holes were slightly larger (both stem and drain holes) and the plastic were more pliable like silicone, then these would get 5 stars from me. I will continue to use them; I just have to be VERY patient and VERY careful when putting them in and taking them out of the garden.
Date published: 2010-01-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed Used as instructed and was disappointed in the results. My crop of tomatoes using this product last year was very poor vs the ones I planted my usual way. My tomato plant outgrew the tray and removing it was disasterous. Mine broke apart when I tired to remove it from the plant. Also, dirt kept accumulating in the watering holes. Lastly, I'm use to having my plants having their roots DEEP in the dirt. All the plants where I used this product had roots growing up through the watering holes and right underneath the tray which molded quickly. No wonder the plants did not produce well. I don't know what the other reviewers were doing to make them give such good reviews on this product or what type of tomatoes they were using. But I am not impressed. I will continue working my garden the old fashioned way.
Date published: 2009-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Call me crazy... THEY WORK! I was skeptical about these.. but they actually work. I planted tomato and pepper plants with them verses without them to compare the results. All the plants with the trays grew faster and produces more fruit than those without. Personally I'm still skeptical if the results has as much to do with the red color as it does from preventing the soil from drying out and offering weed control.. but as long as it works I don't care if they're pink and purple :-) One thing to note is that they fit PERFECTLY inside the burpee square collapsable tomato cages (which are an excellent high quality product.. get rid of the cheap round ones from your local hardware / garden store). These red trays are reusable. I'm on my 3rd year with several but they do eventually crack and will probably have to be replaced after the 3 or 4th year. However, still a great value and more than make up the cost from the 'extra' harvest.
Date published: 2009-03-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good idea in theory I liked the idea that these trays provide better light and more direct water for the plants, but they didn't work in my garden this year. The problem is that my tomato plants were too big, so sunlight rarely reached the plastic tray, and the stems grew too big for the small-ish stem hole. I did like that the water could quickly get down to the roots, but that was the only pro that I found with this product. Mine also got all ripped up when I took my tomato plants out of the ground at the end of the season, so if I wanted to use them again, I would have to buy new ones.
Date published: 2008-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! We have the Automater trays on some of our plants this year and will be buying more for next year. We did a test with 2 Roma tomato plants and the one that has the tray is about 3 times the size of the other and the yield is amazingly larger. Wonderful product for our area.
Date published: 2008-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I didn't see any difference in production. I had trays on 6 of my 15 tomato plants and I saw little to no difference in the production of tomatoes on the plants with the trays.
Date published: 2008-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One great tomatoe & pepper accessory Others in our community garden had Celebrity and Roma tomatoes. I think that the tomato trays mad a big difference, our tomatoes our performed everyone else's by a land slide. We also used them on our peppers and they increased the production. I would highly recommend these trays for an increase in production.
Date published: 2007-09-06
  • y_2018, m_7, d_15, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod001247, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_burpee