IMPORTANT: You are using an old browser. You will not be able to checkout using this browser for data security reasons. Please use another browser or upgrade this one to continue. Read more.

Tomato, SteakHouse Hybrid

Short Description

The world's largest beefsteak.

Full Description

Big news in the tomato patch! Meet the biggest tomato ever bred. And it’s not just bigger but better. Tipping the scales at up to three lbs. plus, broad-shouldered tomato titan is bigger than Big Daddy, and loaded with true heirloom tomato flavor and head-spinning fragrance. Indeterminate plants produce gorgeous, humongous fruits.
Buy this product
Item # Product
Order
Quantity
Price
Item#: 69030A
Order: 1 Pkt. (25 seeds)
- +
$6.95
Add to Wish List

In Stock

Item#: 22327
Order: 3 Plants
- +
$17.95
Add to Wish List

In Stock

AvailableinMixandMatch

Product properties

Type Some flowers and vegetables fall into subcategories that may define how they grow (such as pole or bush), what they are used for (such as slicing tomatoes or shelling peas), flower type, or other designations that will help you select the type of a class of plant that you are looking for.

Beefsteak

Fruit Bearing This refers to the relative season when the plant produces fruit, or if it bears continuously or just once

Indeterminate

Days To Maturity The average number of days from when the plant is actively growing in the garden to the expected time of harvest.

75-80 days

Fruit Weight The average weight of the fruit produced by this product.

24-48 ounces

Sun The amount of sunlight this product needs daily in order to perform well in the garden. Full sun means 6 hours of direct sun per day; partial sun means 2-4 hours of direct sun per day; shade means little or no direct sun.

Full Sun

Spread The width of the plant at maturity.

65-70 inches

Plant Shipping Information

Plants begin shipping week of:

May 01, 2017

(Click here for Spring shipping schedule)

Restrictions:

Item 22327 cannot ship to: AA, AE, AK, AP, AS, CN, FM, GA, GU, HI, MH, MP, PR, PW, VI
See all Burpee plant shipping restrictions for your state

the burpee

difference

100%

satisfaction
guaranteed

non-gmo
since 1876

Images

Customer favorite
Enlarge Photo
Print Page

Video

Tomatoes- Staking and Caging
Support your tomato plants for maximum growth and yields.
Watch video

How to Sow and Plant

  • Sow tomato seeds indoors 6-8 weeks before the last frost in spring using a seed starting kit
  • Sow seeds ¼  inch deep in seed-starting formula
  • Keep the soil moist at 75 degrees F
  • Seedlings emerge in 7-14 days
  • As soon as seedlings emerge, provide plenty of light on a sunny windowsill or grow seedlings 3-4 inches beneath fluorescent plant lights turned on 16 hours per day, off for 8 hours at night. Raise the lights as the plants grow taller. Incandescent bulbs will not work for this process because they will get too hot. Most plants require a dark period to grow, do not leave lights on for 24 hours.
  • Seedlings do not need much fertilizer, feed when they are 3-4 weeks old using a starter solution (half strength of a complete indoor houseplant food) according to manufacturer’s directions.
  • If you are growing in small cells, you may need to transplant the seedlings to 3 or 4 inch pots when seedlings have at least 3 pairs of leaves before transplanting to the garden so they have enough room to develop strong roots
  • Before planting in the garden, seedling plants need to be “hardened off”. Accustom young plants to outdoor conditions by moving them to a sheltered place outside for a week. Be sure to protect them from wind and hot sun at first. If frost threatens at night, cover or bring containers indoors, then take them out again in the morning. This hardening off process toughens the plant’s cell structure and reduces transplant shock and scalding.

Planting in the Garden:

  • Select a location in full sun with good rich moist organic soil. Make sure you did not grow tomatoes, peppers, eggplant or potatoes in the bed the previous year to avoid disease problems.
  • Prepare the bed by turning the soil under to a depth of 8 inches. Level with a rake to remove clumps of grass and stones.
  • Tomatoes should be set 30-48 inches apart in a row with the rows spaced 3-4 feet apart. It can be tempting to space tomatoes more closely at planting time, but if you plant too closely you will increase the chance of disease, and decrease yields.
  • Dig a hole for each plant large enough to amply accommodate the root ball. 
  • Carefully remove the plant from its pot and gently loosen the root ball with your hands to encourage good root development. 
  • Tomatoes can be planted deeply, with the stem buried to the first set of leaves. The more deeply they are planted the more roots will form, providing the plant with additional support and better ability to take up nutrients. Some gardeners plant tomatoes by digging a horizontal trench and laying the plant in the trench with the top 2-4 inches of the plant pointing upward.
  • Fill the planting hole with soil to the top and press soil down firmly with your hand leaving a slight depression around the plant to hold water. 
  • Use the plant tag as a location marker. This is particularly important if you are trying different varieties. It is very difficult to tell which variety is which from the foliage.  
  • Water thoroughly, so that a puddle forms in the saucer you have created. This settles the plants in, drives out air pockets and results in good root-to-soil contact.
  • Place your plant support at this time. You can try tomato cages or staking. Unsupported plants will sprawl on the ground, require no pruning, and will probably produce a larger yield of smaller fruit than will staked plants. For larger, cleaner, more perfect fruits, support plants as they grow. Growing on stakes: Place strong stakes in the ground and set plants about 6 inches from the stakes. Growing in cages: Place a cage around a single plant; let the vines grow and enlarge within the cage, no pruning  will be necessary

How to Grow

  • Keep weeds under control during the growing season. Weeds compete with plants for water, space and nutrients, so control them by either cultivating often or use a mulch to prevent their seeds from germinating. 
  • Mulches also help retain soil moisture and maintain even soil temperatures. This is especially important for tomatoes as their roots may be easily damaged when weeding, and this can lead to blossom end rot.
  • Keep plants well-watered during the growing season, especially during dry spells. Plants need about 1-2 inches of rain per week during the growing season. Use a rain gauge to check to see if you need to add water. It's best to water with a drip or trickle system that delivers water at low pressure at the soil level. If you water with overhead sprinklers, water early in the day so the foliage has time to dry off before evening, to minimize disease problems. Keep the soil moist but not saturated.
  • If growing on stakes: As the plants grow, allow only one or two main stems to grow and pinch out any other side shoots as they form. Gently tie the one or two remaining shoots to the stake; don't pull them tightly against the stake. If growing in cages, no pruning is necessary.
  • Whether to remove the side shoots, or suckers, that grow out of the leaf axils or not depends on the support system used. Gardeners using stakes usually snap off these side shoots. They typically get earlier and larger tomatoes but overall production tends to be less. If tomatoes are grown in cages, the suckers are generally left on, although it's a good idea to pinch the tip out of them when they are 6-8 inches long. Regardless you may want to remove all the growth from the bottom 6-10 inches of the plant. This helps to improve air circulation and reduce the spread of diseases such as early blight. Wait until the plants are knee-high. In the morning when the plants have the most water in them, snap off the lower growth while it is small. Any plants that look sick with distorted foliage or have a mosaic pattern on the leaves should be removed as they may have a virus that can spread to the other plants. It is best to do this early in the season.
  • Monitor for pests and diseases. Check with your local Cooperative Extension Service for pest controls recommended for your area.

Harvesting and Preserving Tips

  • Determinate tomato plants ripen a heavy crop over a few weeks. Indeterminate varieties bear fruit continuously until frost. Remember that the days to harvest refers to the time from setting out transplants in the garden.
  • Pick tomatoes when they are as ripe as possible. They should be fully colored and firm and picked regularly to avoid overloading plants.
  • At the end of the season, when you know there will be a frost, pick all the almost-ripe tomatoes you can, and ripen them in brown bags or spread on newspapers at room temperature. Many cultivars will store for months. Store only sound fruit, at 50-60°F. Do NOT refrigerate and try to avoid having the fruit touch each other.
  • The foliage of tomatoes is toxic and should not be eaten.
  • Tomato fruits are enjoyed in many cooked dishes as a flavoring. Use them to make soups, sauces, stews, ketchup, paste, juice, quiche, and pies. Add them to curries, casseroles, and chutney.
Type
Beefsteak
Fruit Bearing
Indeterminate
Days To Maturity
75-80 days
Fruit Weight
24-48 ounces
Sun
Full Sun
Spread
65-70 inches
Height
65-70 inches
Sow Method
Indoor Sow
Sow Time
6-8 weeks BLF
Thin
6 inches
Tomato, SteakHouse Hybrid is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 111.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Steak house tomato I bought this tomato for my kitchen garden and it's exceeded my expectations. In spite of it was planted in the end of May (late for our area) I had a very good crop of really big (about 1 lb each) and very testy tomatoes.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Seeds maybe Bout 1/2 the seeds came up the they all died all I have to say
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from stakehouse tomato tried them this year and they were very good maybe not as big as I would have like
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Big Tomato with Great Big Taste I started six seeds last February and got six plants so germination was 100%. The tomatoes were huge, heavy, and very tasty. A true one slice per sandwich giant with that "ole timey" tomato taste and texture. Each tomato was a meal in itself!
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent choice I grew three of these plants this year just to try them out and was quite impressed. The fruit was sandwich size with good flavor. Little cracking or wilting despite some erratic weather here in VA. Like most large varieties size tapers off later and they need suckers trimmed at least weekly. I definitely recommend you put a few of these out next year.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tomato harvest Planted seed in February and transplanted in early April. Weekly fertilization with liquid MiracleGro. Yielded enormous crop of very large fruit. The tomato harvest in this area was in general poor. I attribute my success to frequent fertilization.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Juicy and big! Started the seeds indoors the last day of February and planted them in the veg patch a month later. Every single one of them sprouted and we've been enjoying fresh tomatoes all summer, with many more on the vine. Compared to 2 other kinds of tomatoes we attempted this yr, these taste the best by far.
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terribly small, deformed fruit. Planted in a fresh plot, nothing but trouble from the get go. Deformed fruits, managed to get maybe 3 tomatoes from 3 total plants. My other tomatoes grew just as good as always, but these failed. All of which were no more than maybe 8oz MAX. Disappointed. Will not buy again.
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely disappointed All the seeds germinated beautiful plants with about 5 tomatoes total from 10 plants.
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dispointment I planted 3 of these in 2015. None of them produced anything. One plant came damaged, but with a little TLC perked up. But none of the plants grew to more then 6-8 inches and none produced fruit. Burpee you let me down.
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reistance Ratings????? Burpee has some great tomatoes, but they almost NEVER give you a resistance rating. I have no idea why they don't indicate at least V F N resitance on those that have it. I'm certainly not going to waste a season by trial and error, and can only assume they have no resistance at all.
Date published: 2016-03-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not as advertised. Package came with only 7 seeds, to my friend, who wouldn't want his/her name tarnished by complaining here. (State elected individual.) It was his/her intent to get these going and give to friends and neighbors. Oh well. Not an Heirloom, so seeds cannot be saved to make up for the shortage a year after the fact.
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Huge Great germination and I found very easy to grow. Good production of huge but ugly fruit, my largest was 2.9 lbs which looked like a clump of tomatoes growing together. Good flavor, we froze and used for sauce.
Date published: 2016-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome tomato This tomato is very easy to grow. Every seed I planted grew. This is a huge tomato, however not as big as the one in the picture. It is still pretty big though. Everyone thought it was awesome and couldn't believe how big it was. I have no problem with this at all. It's very easy to grow.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very diapponted I live in McMinnville, the nursery capitol of the world (excellent soil and growing conditions) where tomato plants thrive. Of all the seeds of this variety that I planted , only three plants survived and produced very few and small tomatoes; very disappointed.
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappionted in this first time in ten years burpee let me down. Got one tomato the size of golf ball. everything else grew just great
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Will not Grow again I tried this and the super sauce this past spring in my garden. Got the plants to come up, finally, and got a few tomatoes, but nothing like the ones they said, most were 3-4 inches and the plant died of wilt before they even got ripe. I had other plants, right next to this one and they were fine and produced much better. They were Parks Whopper and they did fantastic. I also had San Marzano heirlooms growing in the next bed and they did fantastic as well, so I am sure it was not the beds or the medium they were planted in. I was very disappointed and I tossed the rest of the very expensive seed packet because I am not going to waste space in my garden for these plants again.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Wow! First, I had 100% seed germination. I grew them 10 weeks indoors on a window sill. We had a VERY dry summer and above normal temperatures. Size and yield were out of control. I had a hard time giving them away fast enough. One plant out of 25 didn't do well but provided 6 normal size tomatoes. I had fruit from mid July to the first week in October. I'll plant these again next year.... just not as many!
Date published: 2015-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Overall, 2015 was a difficult summer for tomatoes in my area. However, of the 6 varieties of tomatoes I planted, in my opinion, this was the worst. It began with only a 75% germination rate. At $6.95 + S&H it started out pricey. Of the 19 plants that germinated, one dropped dead the second week it was in the ground...no apparent reason. Advertised as the world's largest beefsteak, there were no particularly large tomatoes. The flavor was disappointing, but that is something that happens frequently in hybrids. Also, this was the only variety in 20 years of growing tomatoes that developed blossom end rot. I'll definitely stick with old standard heirlooms in the future.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Tomato! Absolutely the best tomato I have ever grown. Great taste and a single plant has produced 40-50 tomatoes, all in excess of 1 pound. Many 2 pounds plus. Resisted disease and wilt better than most of my tomato plants. Next year half of my tomatoes will be this variety. Tim-Richmond VA
Date published: 2015-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from for me also not as many or as large - also a tomato created by you Delicious holds the record for largest tomato This tomato was developed many years ago by Burpee's from "Beefsteak" tomato, after 13 years of selection for smoother fruit. This really big tomato produces huge 1-to 3-lb fruit that are fairly smooth for a giant tomato, and as the name implies, these are delicious! In 1986 Delicious set the world record for weight, with a giant 7 lb 12 oz fruit!
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge Tomato This was probably the largest tomato I have ever seen. It not only grew up to 4 pounds, but produced over 150 pounds on one plant in its lifetime. It did have a large core, but it was made up for in the massive amount of meat and few seeds. Overall, I enjoyed how this tomato was a meal on its own.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Soooo Diasaapointed! Bought the 3 plants and put them in large pots. They were vigorous in growth but did not produce the number nor size of tomatoes advertised. They were pretty flavorful but I had hoped for a greater number and at least a couple that were close in size to the photo. I had several green ones left at the end of the season but they were small and of course had no chance to grow. Weather around my area of the Great Lakes last summer was not conducive to a very prolific garden--at least in speaking with many gardeners I know--too much rain and cooler temps. But I think I am going to try it one more time and see how it goes. That picture is seductive (haha).
Date published: 2015-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from steakhouse The steakhouse tomatoes were very large, but the plant produces very few tomatoes.This year I'm just going to plant a few more beefsteak type plants instead which is much less expensive. The taste is similar..
Date published: 2015-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing tomato!!! I will buy this tomato year after year!! It has amazing flavor and texture, not to mention the huge size the plants produced! this spring I will be adding a lot more supports to the plants because the tomatoes were very heavy!
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK Tomato My steakhouse tomatoes were no where near the advertised weights. I start all my plants from seed. My brandy wines grew the largest tomatoes. Most of my plants grew to 7 foot. Good producer, but maybe should be called small than brandywine hybrid.
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good tomato i have grown supersteak for years but i think this tomato is better .for me it grows about the same size as supersteak.i like steak house better than supersteak.better eating
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heafty Plants -- A Bit Sweet Started my plants from seed, and from the start they were a bigger, heavier plant than my other tomatoes. When transplanted outside it got a bit cold and windy, they pulled through and by midsummer the trunk was close to 1 inch in diameter and easily over 7 feet tall. Ensure you have pretty hefty stakes and lots of room. The tomatoes were very nice, and roundish. In the past I have had large tomatoes which seem to have oblong lobes making them hard to peal or cut, these were nice and symmetrical. My only downside was these tomatoes are a bit on the sweet side, I like my tomatoes a bit more sharp or acidic. They did make gallons of tomato juice.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money. Non Producer I ordered these & had high expectations, boy was I disappointed. I actually ordered the seeds, but then ordered the plants the next day. When the plants arrived, I followed the directions for acclimating them & got them in the ground in 3 days. From the beginning these these plants were a disappointment. They took off quick & doubled in size in 2 weeks, then it seemed to stop. Even though my other tomatoes were doing fine, these 3 plants seemed to stall. They produced very few blossoms & resulted in 2 tomatoes TOTAL for the season. I had 2 planted in my garden & another planted in a spot I prepared where it would get more sunlight. I will say that late in the season ( mid- September, 12 plus weeks after planting) they finally started producing some blossoms, but by this time I was already starting to shut things down for the season. Here's a photo of two of the plants, they're the 2 next to the shed. This is eight weeks after planting them and they're only a week behind the monsters growing to the left. After paying $23.90 & waiting all season, the 2 tomatoes I got were a huge disappointment, They were smaller than my other beefsteaks. Don't waste you time, money or garden space on these non-producers. I really wish that I could have provided a more positive review, but unfortunately that's not possible. If you're willing to gamble & spend nearly 25 bucks on a longshot.. give it a try, personally I'd rather spend my time & money on plants that give me a reward for the work I put into growing them.
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Pweformer bought 2 plants this past spring and they arrived in very good condition. Tomatoes were plentiful and had great flavor. Not quite as big as advertised, but larger than any I've grown in over 40 years of vegetable gardening. Great product Will buy more plants this coming spring.
Date published: 2014-11-22
  • y_2017, m_1, d_16, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_111
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod003442, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_burpee