IMPORTANT: You are using an old browser. You will not be able to checkout using this browser for data security reasons. Please use another browser or upgrade this one to continue. Read more.

Tomato, Italian Ice Hybrid

Short Description

Cooling, melt-in-your-mouth tomato taste sensation.

Full Description

Sugary sweet and bursting with juicy flavor, Italian Ice is a summer picnic treat. Clusters of 1-1 1/2" snack-sized fruits ripen from green to ivory white, becoming uniquely sweet and mild-tasting. Chill a bowlful for a satisfying portable snack when the sultry days of summer call for a cooling, melt-in-your-mouth taste sensation.
Buy this product
Item # Product
Order
Quantity
Price
Item#: 68120A
Order: 1 Pkt. (30 seeds)
- +
$5.99
Add to Wish List

In Stock

Item#: 28005
Order: 3 Plants
- +
$17.99
Add to Wish List

In Stock

AvailableinMixandMatch

Product properties

Type Some flowers and vegetables fall into subcategories that may define how they grow (such as pole or bush), what they are used for (such as slicing tomatoes or shelling peas), flower type, or other designations that will help you select the type of a class of plant that you are looking for.

Cherry

Fruit Bearing This refers to the relative season when the plant produces fruit, or if it bears continuously or just once

Indeterminate

Days To Maturity The average number of days from when the plant is actively growing in the garden to the expected time of harvest.

65 days

Fruit Weight The average weight of the fruit produced by this product.

1 ounces

Sun The amount of sunlight this product needs daily in order to perform well in the garden. Full sun means 6 hours of direct sun per day; partial sun means 2-4 hours of direct sun per day; shade means little or no direct sun.

Full Sun

Spread The width of the plant at maturity.

18 inches

Plant Shipping Information

Plants begin shipping week of:

May 07, 2018

Click here for Spring shipping schedule

Restrictions:

Item 28005 cannot ship to: AA, AE, AK, AP, AS, CN, FM, GA, GU, HI, MH, MP, PR, PW, VI
See all Burpee plant shipping restrictions for your state

the burpee

difference

100%

satisfaction
guaranteed

non-gmo
since 1876

Images

Customer favorite
Enlarge Photo
Print Page

Video

  • Tomatoes

    Tomatoes
    Start Indoors Start Indoors Starting seeds indoors is called Indoor Sow or Indirect Sow and these dates are when to sow seeds indoors in the spring or summer
    Transplant Transplant When to transplant bulbs or roots in the garden for spring
    Start Outdoors Start Outdoors Starting seeds outdoors is called Outdoor Sow or Direct Sow and these dates are when to sow seeds outdoors in the spring or summer
    Start Indoors Fall Start Indoors Fall Starting seeds indoors in the fall called Indoor Sow or Indirect Sow and these dates are when to sow seeds outdoors in the fall
    Transplant Fall Transplant Fall Transplant Fall-When to transplant bulbs or roots in the garden for fall
    Start Outdoors Fall Start Outdoors Fall Starting seeds outdoors in the fall is called Outdoor Sow or Direct Sow and these dates are when to sow seeds outdoors in the fall
    First Date: Mar-07 - Last Date: Mar-21
    First Date: May-02 - Last Date: May-30
    Jan
    Feb
    Mar
    Apr
    May
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
    Oct
    Nov
    Dec

How to Sow and Plant

  • Sow tomato seeds indoors 6-8 weeks before the last frost in spring using a seed starting kit
  • Sow seeds ¼  inch deep in seed-starting formula
  • Keep the soil moist at 75 degrees F
  • Seedlings emerge in 7-14 days
  • As soon as seedlings emerge, provide plenty of light on a sunny windowsill or grow seedlings 3-4 inches beneath fluorescent plant lights turned on 16 hours per day, off for 8 hours at night. Raise the lights as the plants grow taller. Incandescent bulbs will not work for this process because they will get too hot. Most plants require a dark period to grow, do not leave lights on for 24 hours.
  • Seedlings do not need much fertilizer, feed when they are 3-4 weeks old using a starter solution (half strength of a complete indoor houseplant food) according to manufacturer’s directions.
  • If you are growing in small cells, you may need to transplant the seedlings to 3 or 4 inch pots when seedlings have at least 3 pairs of leaves before transplanting to the garden so they have enough room to develop strong roots
  • Before planting in the garden, seedling plants need to be “hardened off”. Accustom young plants to outdoor conditions by moving them to a sheltered place outside for a week. Be sure to protect them from wind and hot sun at first. If frost threatens at night, cover or bring containers indoors, then take them out again in the morning. This hardening off process toughens the plant’s cell structure and reduces transplant shock and scalding.

Planting in the Garden:

  • Select a location in full sun with good rich moist organic soil. Make sure you did not grow tomatoes, peppers, eggplant or potatoes in the bed the previous year to avoid disease problems.
  • Prepare the bed by turning the soil under to a depth of 8 inches. Level with a rake to remove clumps of grass and stones.
  • Tomatoes should be set 30-48 inches apart in a row with the rows spaced 3-4 feet apart. It can be tempting to space tomatoes more closely at planting time, but if you plant too closely you will increase the chance of disease, and decrease yields.
  • Dig a hole for each plant large enough to amply accommodate the root ball. 
  • Carefully remove the plant from its pot and gently loosen the root ball with your hands to encourage good root development. 
  • Tomatoes can be planted deeply, with the stem buried to the first set of leaves. The more deeply they are planted the more roots will form, providing the plant with additional support and better ability to take up nutrients. Some gardeners plant tomatoes by digging a horizontal trench and laying the plant in the trench with the top 2-4 inches of the plant pointing upward.
  • Fill the planting hole with soil to the top and press soil down firmly with your hand leaving a slight depression around the plant to hold water. 
  • Use the plant tag as a location marker. This is particularly important if you are trying different varieties. It is very difficult to tell which variety is which from the foliage.  
  • Water thoroughly, so that a puddle forms in the saucer you have created. This settles the plants in, drives out air pockets and results in good root-to-soil contact.
  • Place your plant support at this time. You can try tomato cages or staking. Unsupported plants will sprawl on the ground, require no pruning, and will probably produce a larger yield of smaller fruit than will staked plants. For larger, cleaner, more perfect fruits, support plants as they grow. Growing on stakes: Place strong stakes in the ground and set plants about 6 inches from the stakes. Growing in cages: Place a cage around a single plant; let the vines grow and enlarge within the cage, no pruning  will be necessary

How to Grow

  • Keep weeds under control during the growing season. Weeds compete with plants for water, space and nutrients, so control them by either cultivating often or use a mulch to prevent their seeds from germinating. 
  • Mulches also help retain soil moisture and maintain even soil temperatures. This is especially important for tomatoes as their roots may be easily damaged when weeding, and this can lead to blossom end rot.
  • Keep plants well-watered during the growing season, especially during dry spells. Plants need about 1-2 inches of rain per week during the growing season. Use a rain gauge to check to see if you need to add water. It's best to water with a drip or trickle system that delivers water at low pressure at the soil level. If you water with overhead sprinklers, water early in the day so the foliage has time to dry off before evening, to minimize disease problems. Keep the soil moist but not saturated.
  • If growing on stakes: As the plants grow, allow only one or two main stems to grow and pinch out any other side shoots as they form. Gently tie the one or two remaining shoots to the stake; don't pull them tightly against the stake. If growing in cages, no pruning is necessary.
  • Whether to remove the side shoots, or suckers, that grow out of the leaf axils or not depends on the support system used. Gardeners using stakes usually snap off these side shoots. They typically get earlier and larger tomatoes but overall production tends to be less. If tomatoes are grown in cages, the suckers are generally left on, although it's a good idea to pinch the tip out of them when they are 6-8 inches long. Regardless you may want to remove all the growth from the bottom 6-10 inches of the plant. This helps to improve air circulation and reduce the spread of diseases such as early blight. Wait until the plants are knee-high. In the morning when the plants have the most water in them, snap off the lower growth while it is small. Any plants that look sick with distorted foliage or have a mosaic pattern on the leaves should be removed as they may have a virus that can spread to the other plants. It is best to do this early in the season.
  • Monitor for pests and diseases. Check with your local Cooperative Extension Service for pest controls recommended for your area.

Harvesting and Preserving Tips

  • Determinate tomato plants ripen a heavy crop over a few weeks. Indeterminate varieties bear fruit continuously until frost. Remember that the days to harvest refers to the time from setting out transplants in the garden.
  • Pick tomatoes when they are as ripe as possible. They should be fully colored and firm and picked regularly to avoid overloading plants.
  • At the end of the season, when you know there will be a frost, pick all the almost-ripe tomatoes you can, and ripen them in brown bags or spread on newspapers at room temperature. Many cultivars will store for months. Store only sound fruit, at 50-60°F. Do NOT refrigerate and try to avoid having the fruit touch each other.
  • The foliage of tomatoes is toxic and should not be eaten.
  • Tomato fruits are enjoyed in many cooked dishes as a flavoring. Use them to make soups, sauces, stews, ketchup, paste, juice, quiche, and pies. Add them to curries, casseroles, and chutney.
Type
Cherry
Fruit Bearing
Indeterminate
Days To Maturity
65 days
Fruit Weight
1 ounces
Sun
Full Sun
Spread
18 inches
Height
60-72 inches
Sow Method
Indoor Sow
Sow Time
6-8 weeks BLF
Thin
6 inches
Tomato, Italian Ice Hybrid is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 62.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent flavor!! I bought these little gems last year and just ordered them again! They were very easy to grow and we had so many that we had to give them away, which everyone loved. They had a slight yellowish color and very sweet. Absolutely my favorite cherry tomato!
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jury is still out I really enjoy the Italian Ice Tomatoes. Got acquainted with them at a farmer's market, then order for myself the following year. This year I didn't have the usual good luck as in the past. Maybe it was just the growing season. The fruit we did get was good, just not as productive as in the past.
Date published: 2016-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful, prolific tomato! Great tomato. Very firm with mild, light summer flavor!
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The gift that keeps on giving I bought this tomato last year very bushy plant with honey colored tomatoes they did well in the PNW where I live but just meh in flavor. But this year they reseeded themselves in the raised bed. they survived being transplanted and are growing strong. Very Cool! It is also a fun color to add to your cherry tomato mix.
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nothing wrong... but "meh" I can't find much wrong with this plant, but it isn't stellar either. The fruits are tasty, but not special. Not anything wrong either. They are oddly square fruit though, which is confusing. The plants are healthy. 1/2 of the plants is not producing, the other is doing fine. Yield is less than other cherry tomatoes (or I can't see the fruit in the tangle of vines). Ripe fruit is difficult to identify in my tomato wall, as once they are shaded by green leafs, the whiteness disappears. Maybe I'll grow again, but others take priority.
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very difficult plant, would NEVER grow again! I live in the PNW and bought the plants to get a head start, the 1st order died within days of arrival, the 2nd order was shipped when I wasn't home to receive them (they actually lived unexpectedly after nearing death's door), their replacement order died. After babying the 2nd order, I FINALLY have plants that went from anemic green to dark green and have produced tomatoes and am just waiting for them to ripen. They have been oh so difficult, I will never order them again. For comparison, I also ordered other tomato plants that are just doing BEAUTIFULLY and I couldn't be happier.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of our favorites! We first grew Italian Ice in 2015 and loved it so much that we have decided to feature it in our garden again in 2016. On average we grow 6-10 varieties of tomatoes each year and this is one of our favorites of all time. We opted to buy Italian Ice in plant form so please note that I have no feedback on how this variety starts from seed. Our plant arrived happy and healthy roughly two weeks before the optimal time to plant it in our yard which worked fine for me. Within a month of planting, Italian Ice was the most robust tomato plant in the garden. It did require quite a bit of support but that is no surprise as by Labor day this beauty had topped out at over five feet. It was the last of all of our plants to produce fruit but once it got going it produced dozens upon dozens of mild, sweet, cream colored orbs right up until our first hard frost. We found these tomatoes to be perfect for fresh eating and a lovely additional to salads. Easy of the stomach and on the eyes I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this variety to anyone.
Date published: 2016-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very determined to grow and hard to kill When the wind knocked over my pot and the I neglected it and barely watered it, it grew down two steps, rerooted itself in the ground, and became at least 4 feet longer after that. I got probably 50 tomatoes off of one plant (some of which I actually ate- I forgot it was supposed to be a yellow/white tomato and was waiting for it to ripen. Normally I am on top of those things but I thought the Italian Ice had died and just left the pot up against the deck steps... very hardy little plant
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Abundant Grower I ordered Italian Ice as a mixed 3-pack of plants along with Fourth of July and Cloudy Day. (See my other reviews on them.) The plants arrived May 8 with healthy roots and sturdy stalks in nice packaging. Because last frost wasn’t predicted until Mother’s Day, I didn’t plant them until May 23. They were tucked into a raised bed with a mixture of 1/3 Peat Moss, 1/3 Vermiculite and 1/3 organic compost. I picked my first ripe tomatoes August 19. The flavor is mild, with low-acid, and the size is perfect for tossing in salads or for snacking. Mine were also yellow in color, not pale like the Burpee photos. June was a wet month with 7 inches of rain and all three of my tomato plants from Burpee grew like gangbusters easily topping 6 feet tall. Italian Ice was slow to produce, but once it started it quickly became a heavy producer in a very short time. From Mid-August through September I picked more than 200 little yellow tomatoes keeping my co-workers stocked. The only disease I experienced was spotted leaf which affected all of the tomato plants come September. Although satisfied with my growing experience, I won’t be planting this variety again. These come up short on flavor and I know there are better tasting yellow tomatoes available.
Date published: 2015-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really great producer, but is it ripe yet? I have to say I am pleased for the most part and will order again next year. Great fruiter...and the birds leave them alone I guess because they never appear ripe. Looks cool for visual appeal. Out of the 7 varieties of grape and cherry tomatoes we grew this year, likely the least favorite when it comes to flavor but it works and is good enough that we eat them. Tastes better when chilled than room temperature. The only negative is these take some time to get used to what a ripe one looks like, since the difference is very subtle between ripe and non ripe color. Once you get that part down, all good from there. Flavor 3 stars. Producer 5 stars Visual appeal 4 stars
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for snacks & salads Great flavor with outstanding number of tomatoes. I grew the in a patio container to produce good results. Very hardy and easy to maintain. I highly recommend these for snacks or salads. 5 Star in my book!
Date published: 2014-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorites! I love this gorgeous tomato! It's so nice to work the white color in with yellows and reds for appetizers and salsas! All of my neighbors are impressed with the white tomato. It has no acid taste. It's so sweet that my kids eat it off the vine like its candy. The folks that get a yellow tint are picking them late. They are ripe when they are cream colored, but turn yellow if left on the vine. They are healthy strong plants and fast growers. This is one of my favorites tomato plants and a staple in my garden every year! Everyone seems to have red and yellow - wow your friends by adding whites!
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointing I love trying different hybrids each year but this one just didn't want to grow. Very hard to get started. Very hard to keep growing. From a 4ft by 8ft bed I only got about a dozen fruit. This year I also tired the sunchocola and the orange wellingtons with much better luck, along with romas and some heirloom German tomatoes passed down for years. Yes we really love our tomatoes. I think this particular variety needs more work.
Date published: 2013-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! These tomatoes matured to a medium yellow color for me--darker than the picture. The flavor was out of this world! Here is the experience: You first bite into an Italian Ice and a citrus flavor bursts into your mouth. Then, as you eat, you begin to taste the skin, which has what I would call a vanilla flavor. Delicious! Unique! Can't eat just one. The plant grows like crazy and keeps producing the entire season.
Date published: 2012-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super seller great taste treat.super bedtime snack I tried this tomato their first summer...2010, and really loved it. I cage all my tomatoes, and this one needed "Double Caged" Grew out the top of over 7' tall cages, which makes for really great, easy picking. Don't understand why so many people say this tomato is not good, or does not grow well/taste good.... Gotta be lack of proper nutrients in their soil. First year I only planted 2 plants, and gave some for samples to people who come to buy from our small home garden and they were amazed. Almost everyone wanted more. This year I planted 6 plants of Italian Ice, and still could not keep up with the demand. The tomatoes grow well, average app 1" diameter, and are very crack resistant. We grow our tomatoes on a "plastic mulch" with "Trickle Tape" Irrigation UNDER the plastic, and keep the ground moist even in the driest of weather with very little water. Are cages are very sturdy, and will support the weight of a 300# man lying across on top of one, therefore lend themselves very handily to stacking to accommodate the long vines these will produce if planted in good soil. All I can say to those who say they do not grow or produce is....read up on how to grow tomatoes, as you evidently are lacking someplace!
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Kind of lousy I've tried these twice now and they are overwhelmingly prolific but really bland and tasteless. I wanted them to live up to their description but both seasons yielded the same result.
Date published: 2012-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great producer This is my first time with a garden. I started from seed and all sprouted. Transplanted great. Produced later than my other tomatoes. They take a long time to ripen but are beautiful. They are best eaten at the golden stages. I can see they will probably turn all white but i noticed the lighter they get in color they lose almost all the flavor. Would give 5 stars Burpee photo is misleading. The plants have sooooo many tomatoes.
Date published: 2012-08-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Blonde Tomato As other reviewers have said, my little tomatoes were yellowish- or kinder, "platinum blonde"- instead of white. I wonder if this is due to region, as other reviewers have said theirs are white. Could cross pollination be a culprit? Very sturdy plants! Mine are planted in wine barrels on the roof for maximum sun exposure. I planted 3 plants to a barrel- but would do 2 next time, as it is a jungle in there! Very light flavor... not really sweet though.
Date published: 2012-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yum! Italian Ice Hybrid Loads of fruit to date! Sweet and delicious. All yellow thus far...
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tomato, Italian Ice Hybrid Would not germinate they would die just as soon as the broke the surface
Date published: 2012-05-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks great! Well, it looks great but looks can be deceiving. It was easy to germinate, and provided a lot of fruits but did not taste good at all. It tasted bitter and was not delicious. I was disappointed considering that I bought 3 packs of it... I do not recommend it.
Date published: 2012-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prolific and Versatile These did phenomenally well in my garden, especially since we had quite a wet summer and many other varieties rotted on the vine. They are very late for a cherry tomato, but worth the wait. I have never seen as much fruit on another variety and the plants are also quite hardy with a very strong root system. Our wet spring resulted in a late planting out in the garden so I was left with many pounds of fruit on the vines at the end of the season. When I cleaned up the garden, I froze all of the excess ripe tomatoes and pickled all of the green ones. The results for both have been delicious!
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Italian Ice Tomato Customer favorite! Children loved them, not a strong tomato taste. Very prolific.
Date published: 2011-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not what I paid for my experience was the same as another gardener from Ohio. These tomatoes were pale yellow, hard and lacked any flavor. If you left them on the vine hoping that they might actually mature into what was advertised, they started to rot. Definitely not the tomato that was advertised. Waste of money and time! I've already pulled them out of the garden.
Date published: 2011-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not white, not good I was pretty disappointed with this .At no stage of development are these tomatoes white. They are larger than average cherry tomatoes, have little flavor and are YELLOW.
Date published: 2011-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unique! As a business owner and Master Gardener, I highly recommend these! I grew them for the first time last year, as I like to offer many varieties for my garden customers. It was a hands down favorite! They are very sweet and prolific. The unusual light color and wonderful taste delighted my clients. They are asking for them again this year and I will be pleased to offer them. I have placed another order for more. Here's to another great year!
Date published: 2011-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from prolific A large cocktail sized tomato on a HUGE plant. Beware how vigorous these plants get. I had to prune the plants aggressively to keep them in bounds and they still overwhelmed the cage. Just tons of foliage that you have to search through to find the fruit. There are lots of tomatoes.....and they keep producing, but the flavor isn't fantastic (certainly not compared to sweet cherries) and the color is a bit off.....goes from green to yellow to an off white. I'll not be buying these again, just way too much foliage and not enough flavor. Too many great tomatoes out there to mess with these again!
Date published: 2011-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mmmmmmm Reasons I love this tomato: 1)Flavor: They pop with the first bite and then melt into your mouth. Juicy and sweet with a bit of a citrus tang afterward. 2) Texture: Super smooth, not mealy or grainy at all. 3) Appearance: They may not be truly white, more of a light creamy colour, but they are still unusual and look awesome chopped up on a salad. 4)Production/Time to harvest: These took a little longer than most of the other varieties I planted, but not so long that I wont get a nice big harvest before the first frost. They produce several clusters of delicious fruit. My only recommendation to the gardener is to zealously prune this plant. The foliage is so thick I have to hunt for the tomatoes. I pruned to leave only 3 vines to set fruit, next time I will prune so only 2 produce. I will definitely be planting this again!
Date published: 2010-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from unique, mild tomato I got an italian ice plant in one of the tomato collections burpee offers, and it was the biggest, heartiest plant in the shipment. I planted it in a topsy tree, and it's loaded with tomatoes. Mine skip from green to a light yellow buttery color, not the pale cream in the picture. They are an oversized cherry tomato, and they have a very mild, low acid, almost citrusy/fruity flavor. They have a good gel to solid ratio, not too many seeds, you can actually slice them. I liked them enough that after I picked my first ripe one and ate it, I immediately started searching the plant for any more that were ready! I don't usually enjoy cherry tomatoes this much, I got the collection for the other varieties, but I will definitely order this one again, all on its own.
Date published: 2010-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tomatoes I grew these last year, they took over the garden,a large bush and hundreds of wonderful white tomatoes, yes they may appear lite yellow sometmes but most of mine were white. Delicious flavor, easy to grow . I started mine out as an already established plant. Do have trouble getting live plants to me healthy, due to long travel time, but this guy made it and i enjoyed fruit all summer.
Date published: 2010-05-01
  • y_2017, m_11, d_21, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_62
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod000995, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_burpee