IMPORTANT: You are using an old browser. You will not be able to checkout using this browser for data security reasons. Please use another browser or upgrade this one to continue. Read more.

Tomato, Fresh Salsa Hybrid

Short Description

A gourmet garden breakthrough.

Full Description

Salsa lovers, your tomato is here. You can chop this tomato into tiny cubes that will remain perfectly firm and solid. Large, plum-shaped and dripless, Fresh Salsa is all meat-ideal for sassy salsas, bruschettas and light Italian sauces. The determinate, bushy plants are loaded with sweet 4-5 oz. fruits, 2-3 1/2" long by 2" in diameter.
Buy this product
Item # Product
Order
Quantity
Price
Item#: 63726A
Order: 1 Pkt. (30 seeds)
- +
$6.99
Add to Wish List

In Stock

Item#: 23015
Order: 3 Plants
- +
$17.99
Add to Wish List

In Stock

AvailableinMixandMatch

Product properties

Type Some flowers and vegetables fall into subcategories that may define how they grow (such as pole or bush), what they are used for (such as slicing tomatoes or shelling peas), flower type, or other designations that will help you select the type of a class of plant that you are looking for.

Container

Fruit Bearing This refers to the relative season when the plant produces fruit, or if it bears continuously or just once

Determinate

Days To Maturity The average number of days from when the plant is actively growing in the garden to the expected time of harvest.

65-75 days

Fruit Weight The average weight of the fruit produced by this product.

4-5 ounces

Sun The amount of sunlight this product needs daily in order to perform well in the garden. Full sun means 6 hours of direct sun per day; partial sun means 2-4 hours of direct sun per day; shade means little or no direct sun.

Full Sun

Spread The width of the plant at maturity.

18 inches

Plant Shipping Information

Plants begin shipping week of:

May 07, 2018

Click here for Spring shipping schedule

Restrictions:

Item 23015 cannot ship to: AA, AE, AK, AP, AS, CN, FM, GA, GU, HI, MH, MP, PR, PW, VI
Item 63726A cannot ship to: AA, AK
See all Burpee plant shipping restrictions for your state

the burpee

difference

100%

satisfaction
guaranteed

non-gmo
since 1876

Images

Customer favorite
Enlarge Photo
Print Page

Video

  • Tomatoes

    Tomatoes
    Start Indoors Start Indoors Starting seeds indoors is called Indoor Sow or Indirect Sow and these dates are when to sow seeds indoors in the spring or summer
    Transplant Transplant When to transplant bulbs or roots in the garden for spring
    Start Outdoors Start Outdoors Starting seeds outdoors is called Outdoor Sow or Direct Sow and these dates are when to sow seeds outdoors in the spring or summer
    Start Indoors Fall Start Indoors Fall Starting seeds indoors in the fall called Indoor Sow or Indirect Sow and these dates are when to sow seeds outdoors in the fall
    Transplant Fall Transplant Fall Transplant Fall-When to transplant bulbs or roots in the garden for fall
    Start Outdoors Fall Start Outdoors Fall Starting seeds outdoors in the fall is called Outdoor Sow or Direct Sow and these dates are when to sow seeds outdoors in the fall
    First Date: Mar-07 - Last Date: Mar-21
    First Date: May-02 - Last Date: May-30
    Jan
    Feb
    Mar
    Apr
    May
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
    Oct
    Nov
    Dec

How to Sow and Plant

  • Sow tomato seeds indoors 6-8 weeks before the last frost in spring using a seed starting kit
  • Sow seeds ¼  inch deep in seed-starting formula
  • Keep the soil moist at 75 degrees F
  • Seedlings emerge in 7-14 days
  • As soon as seedlings emerge, provide plenty of light on a sunny windowsill or grow seedlings 3-4 inches beneath fluorescent plant lights turned on 16 hours per day, off for 8 hours at night. Raise the lights as the plants grow taller. Incandescent bulbs will not work for this process because they will get too hot. Most plants require a dark period to grow, do not leave lights on for 24 hours.
  • Seedlings do not need much fertilizer, feed when they are 3-4 weeks old using a starter solution (half strength of a complete indoor houseplant food) according to manufacturer’s directions.
  • If you are growing in small cells, you may need to transplant the seedlings to 3 or 4 inch pots when seedlings have at least 3 pairs of leaves before transplanting to the garden so they have enough room to develop strong roots
  • Before planting in the garden, seedling plants need to be “hardened off”. Accustom young plants to outdoor conditions by moving them to a sheltered place outside for a week. Be sure to protect them from wind and hot sun at first. If frost threatens at night, cover or bring containers indoors, then take them out again in the morning. This hardening off process toughens the plant’s cell structure and reduces transplant shock and scalding.

Planting in the Garden:

  • Select a location in full sun with good rich moist organic soil. Make sure you did not grow tomatoes, peppers, eggplant or potatoes in the bed the previous year to avoid disease problems.
  • Prepare the bed by turning the soil under to a depth of 8 inches. Level with a rake to remove clumps of grass and stones.
  • Tomatoes should be set 30-48 inches apart in a row with the rows spaced 3-4 feet apart. It can be tempting to space tomatoes more closely at planting time, but if you plant too closely you will increase the chance of disease, and decrease yields.
  • Dig a hole for each plant large enough to amply accommodate the root ball. 
  • Carefully remove the plant from its pot and gently loosen the root ball with your hands to encourage good root development. 
  • Tomatoes can be planted deeply, with the stem buried to the first set of leaves. The more deeply they are planted the more roots will form, providing the plant with additional support and better ability to take up nutrients. Some gardeners plant tomatoes by digging a horizontal trench and laying the plant in the trench with the top 2-4 inches of the plant pointing upward.
  • Fill the planting hole with soil to the top and press soil down firmly with your hand leaving a slight depression around the plant to hold water. 
  • Use the plant tag as a location marker. This is particularly important if you are trying different varieties. It is very difficult to tell which variety is which from the foliage.  
  • Water thoroughly, so that a puddle forms in the saucer you have created. This settles the plants in, drives out air pockets and results in good root-to-soil contact.
  • Place your plant support at this time. You can try tomato cages or staking. Unsupported plants will sprawl on the ground, require no pruning, and will probably produce a larger yield of smaller fruit than will staked plants. For larger, cleaner, more perfect fruits, support plants as they grow. Growing on stakes: Place strong stakes in the ground and set plants about 6 inches from the stakes. Growing in cages: Place a cage around a single plant; let the vines grow and enlarge within the cage, no pruning  will be necessary

How to Grow

  • Keep weeds under control during the growing season. Weeds compete with plants for water, space and nutrients, so control them by either cultivating often or use a mulch to prevent their seeds from germinating. 
  • Mulches also help retain soil moisture and maintain even soil temperatures. This is especially important for tomatoes as their roots may be easily damaged when weeding, and this can lead to blossom end rot.
  • Keep plants well-watered during the growing season, especially during dry spells. Plants need about 1-2 inches of rain per week during the growing season. Use a rain gauge to check to see if you need to add water. It's best to water with a drip or trickle system that delivers water at low pressure at the soil level. If you water with overhead sprinklers, water early in the day so the foliage has time to dry off before evening, to minimize disease problems. Keep the soil moist but not saturated.
  • If growing on stakes: As the plants grow, allow only one or two main stems to grow and pinch out any other side shoots as they form. Gently tie the one or two remaining shoots to the stake; don't pull them tightly against the stake. If growing in cages, no pruning is necessary.
  • Whether to remove the side shoots, or suckers, that grow out of the leaf axils or not depends on the support system used. Gardeners using stakes usually snap off these side shoots. They typically get earlier and larger tomatoes but overall production tends to be less. If tomatoes are grown in cages, the suckers are generally left on, although it's a good idea to pinch the tip out of them when they are 6-8 inches long. Regardless you may want to remove all the growth from the bottom 6-10 inches of the plant. This helps to improve air circulation and reduce the spread of diseases such as early blight. Wait until the plants are knee-high. In the morning when the plants have the most water in them, snap off the lower growth while it is small. Any plants that look sick with distorted foliage or have a mosaic pattern on the leaves should be removed as they may have a virus that can spread to the other plants. It is best to do this early in the season.
  • Monitor for pests and diseases. Check with your local Cooperative Extension Service for pest controls recommended for your area.

Harvesting and Preserving Tips

  • Determinate tomato plants ripen a heavy crop over a few weeks. Indeterminate varieties bear fruit continuously until frost. Remember that the days to harvest refers to the time from setting out transplants in the garden.
  • Pick tomatoes when they are as ripe as possible. They should be fully colored and firm and picked regularly to avoid overloading plants.
  • At the end of the season, when you know there will be a frost, pick all the almost-ripe tomatoes you can, and ripen them in brown bags or spread on newspapers at room temperature. Many cultivars will store for months. Store only sound fruit, at 50-60°F. Do NOT refrigerate and try to avoid having the fruit touch each other.
  • The foliage of tomatoes is toxic and should not be eaten.
  • Tomato fruits are enjoyed in many cooked dishes as a flavoring. Use them to make soups, sauces, stews, ketchup, paste, juice, quiche, and pies. Add them to curries, casseroles, and chutney.
Type
Container
Fruit Bearing
Determinate
Days To Maturity
65-75 days
Fruit Weight
4-5 ounces
Sun
Full Sun
Spread
18 inches
Height
36-40 inches
Sow Method
Indoor Sow
Sow Time
6-8 weeks BLF
Thin
36 inches
Tomato, Fresh Salsa Hybrid is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 47.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious Tomato I used this in a salsa (surprise) with the Biker Billy Jalapeños. Not only was it a great salsa, these tomatoes produced so much that I had a lot of salsa to give. I had almost no seeds and practically no core. It also works well for other uses, such as salted tomatoes.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't grow Had 5 tomatoe plants last year. 4 were bought as seedlings from burpee including this one. This is the only plans that didn't grow or produce tomatoes. I did not even get one tomatoe to ripen from this plant. Very disappointed. Plants on either side in same bed did fine. Wouldn't recommend it.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for canning! All meat!!! It is quite amazing how much meat is actually in one of these. My only issue with this tomato plant was that it didn't produce many tomatoes. Maybe 5 at a time. I will buy these again next year, but I'll plant a lot more of them!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Tomato, yield was so-so I had one plant of this variety. The tomatoes were delicious, great for salsa or salad. The color was great too, very bright red. My only gripe was that normally my smaller variety tomato plants get covered in tomatoes, but this one would produce just a few at a time. Will plant again though, but probably more than one plant.
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great salsa I use this tomato to make my salsa. It is very tasty and I think my salsa is amazing. I also use it in my sauce and other things I put up. Never had a problem with it and always look forward to harvest as it is always abundant.
Date published: 2013-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Salsa Tomato This one is exactly as described. All meat and excellent for a variety of dishes. There was very high yields both this season and last. The taste was good but not great. A- overall.
Date published: 2013-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than Good Enough I certainly had no problems with germination with close to 100%. I start my plants with a gro-mix under fluorescent lights that are on for 16 hours. With expensive seeds like this I only put one per cell, and I believe I might have had *one* that didn't germinate. They did seem to be a bit more prone to blossom end rot, but I would only notice that because none of the other varieties had it and I might get a couple from these plants with that problem. Certainly nothing untoward, and that only after the plants had gotten past their main crop. My husband did periodically spray all of the tomatoes with a "Yield Booster" (not a Burpee product) that was also supposed to help prevent blossom end rot. Perhaps that's why. can't say about overall disease resistance, this is Alabama: it's hot, it's humid, it rains frequently. All my tomatoes are pretty much sticks by the end of the season no matter what I do. Certainly no more than the others of which about half were heirloom varieties, but no less either. I got a really good crop from just two plants, enough to make almost two gallons of tomato sauce from what I didn't use for fresh salsa. This is the first time I've ever made fresh salsa. Perhaps I'm not as picky as other folks but I thought it was *amazing*. It may just be that it wasn't from a jar from the grocery but I couldn't stay out of it. The no gel/juice to speak of in the fruit (none, really,) is a definite plus. The four stars is because it did seem like it might be prone to blossom end rot and also I haven't had much experience with this type of tomato before. Otherwise it's a keeper.
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing I admit this was the first year I grew tomatoes in large containers so I'm no expert, but I wish I had read the reviews of this one before selecting it. I didn't have a lot of space, and this one was a waste. It was healthy when it arrived, but it got blossom end rot almost as soon as it started getting green tomatoes, and much worse than the other varieties I grew, like Bush Big Boy. It also got some kind of wilt or blight, which my other varieties were affected by but not nearly as much as this one. The tomatoes were okay, but nothing to write home about, especially with so many other great varieties out there. Other reviewers mentioned them being plum-shaped, which is what I was expecting based on the photos: nice, glossy, uniform, plum-shaped tomatoes in a deep red. These really bore no resemblance. I got all kinds of shapes and sizes, especially early in the season. They were orangey and dull. Later in the season they were more glossy and tended to be mostly small or medium and round in shape.
Date published: 2012-08-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Impressed Grows to look like a roma tomato. Very dry tomato. Watch out for a couple of rainy days.... plant gets sick very easily. This plant exploded with brown spots after 3 consecutive rainy days. I had to remove it from my garden and the plants directly around it after they began to catch whatever this plant was spreading. It did produce a ton of tomatoes for 1 plant... but just not worth the wait for them to ripen and the trouble it caused once it became sick, early on in the season too.
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very poor germination Only about 3/30 seeds germinated. The one plant that did germinate and grow has a good crop of tomatoes, but they are round and large, not oblong like romas. I wonder if I got the right seeds.
Date published: 2011-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1st shipment of plants First time I ever ordered plants thru the mail. Could not believe my eyes when I opened the box. Bought Big Mama, Fresh Salsa,and Big Beef along with assorted Bell pepper and Herbs in the mix and match deal. All beautiful plants. Might have to start another small garden? And order some more.
Date published: 2011-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from prolifically disappointing Looking for a Roma-type tomato with a little more juice, I tried this variety. The tomatoes were prolific, however most fruits were cracked, and the ones that didn't abruptly rot on the vines were just dreadful tasting. I couldn't make a decent salsa with them, and they certainly weren't worthy of a salad, so I picked 20 pounds from three plants and tried to make spaghetti sauce which came out watery and bland. Such a profound disappointment.
Date published: 2011-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Disappointing every step of the way: Germination was just so-so, and half of the seedlings I did get died after a few weeks. The plants that survived also did poorly, they never got very big, although all other tomato varieties planted in the same plot got huge. The plants produced just 3 or 4 tomatoes each, and the tomatoes were small, overly firm (hard) and lacking in flavor. I won't grow these again.
Date published: 2010-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor germination I started 5 varieties of tomatoes a month ago. The four other varieties had wonderful germination, almost 100%. This variety had only 50% germination. They were started under the same conditions, but this one just isn't performing.
Date published: 2010-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My only troublesome tomato plant last year My sister and I both grew this tomato. We shared the plant order even! Hers were terrific! Mine were not. Mine had blossom end rot and they seemed to attract lots of bugs. I am still giving it a high rating because my sister's were so good. I am a novice gardener and I think it is probably my inexperience that produced my sad results. I expect I will try this plant again in the future.
Date published: 2010-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from massive yield great firm fruit that has good shelve life and massive yield. to many to eat or give a way my freezer is still packed with these
Date published: 2009-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better for Sauce It's not entirely fair to say these tomatoes are dry, it is more accurate to say they are gel-less. Flesh is rather firm, but texture is more towards mealy. Flavor is mild and sweet, with a twang of acid coming from the skin. Cooked, they release lots of moisture proving that they aren't actually dry, and the sweetness is enhanced a lot. Salsa I made is very much a sweet flavor instead of tangy. These are much better suited for tomato sauces, because of the sweet taste. Plants had horrible blossom-end rot (other tomato plants not really affected). I am getting loads of these, but they are very small. Largest was 6 oz.
Date published: 2008-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product!
Date published: 2008-07-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Less than hoped for I have been growing tomatoes since I was 10 years old and helping my dad in his tomato garden. In fact, tomatoes are the only thing I can consistently grow well. Every year I try one or two new varieties of tomatoes to see if there are any other varieties that I'd want to add to my annual planting list. Last year, I tried the Fresh Salsa and I wasn't impressed. My sister makes awesome homemade salsa, so when I saw these, I had to try them. Overall I thought the yield was very poor and the taste was so-so. I got maybe 10 tomatoes total off three plants. There weren't even any green ones to pick and let ripen indoors at the end of the season. I will not order these again. I've had much better flavor and yeild with other plants.
Date published: 2008-06-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not much flavor... Fresh Salsa was a disappointment in our garden. The flavor was lacking and the tomatoes were small and the texture was mealy. The plants grew well and adapted to the outdoors very quickly, but I would recommend another tomaoto for salsa or as a sauce or canning tomato. I would not purchase them again.
Date published: 2008-01-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Somewhat disappointed Flavor was lacking we thought.
Date published: 2007-12-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mealy and dry. This is a flat out poor tasting tomato. True, it is not going to get juice everywhere because there is none. No flavor and mealy. I think what Burpee was gunning for is an Heirloom tomato called a Federle. Unusual appearance, like a goose's head and this is the one you really truly want for Salsa making. You will win every contest I assure you. Don't waste your time with this. Heck, even a Roma tastes great compared to this.
Date published: 2007-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best!!!! This tomato was great for salsas, sauces and salads. Everyone should try it! I will definitely buy this plant again for next year.
Date published: 2007-10-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Yuck I had such high hopes for this tomato and am sadly disappointed. I completely agree with the reviewer who compared the flavor of these to supermarket tomatoes in December. They are prolific, yes, but who wants a bunch of dry, tasteless tomatoes? Not me! I'm going back to Romas!
Date published: 2007-09-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Better paste tomatoes out there Based on reviews and Burpee's description, I found this tomato interesting. From seed it grew very well and the plants looked awesome at planting time. The fruit is average at best. I was disappointed that I wasted so much limited garden space on these. Not real prolific and flavor is nothing special.
Date published: 2007-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile Tomato! These salsa tomatoes really deliver! Plants are healthy, with decent yield of beautiful, firm tomatoes. No problem whatsoever with disease. They are an absolute MUST for anyone who makes batches of salsa or relishes. They are also fantastic for bruschetta or for fresh, no-cook tomato sauces. I've been growing plum tomatoes for years, but honestly, I find the salsa tomato more versatile and easier to prepare.
Date published: 2007-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best salsa I ever made! One plant gave me 40 tomatoes in one picking! Another had over 24. Fruits were very nice sized, with few seeds and very little juice.
Date published: 2007-08-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not much flavor I was not impressed with these. I will not grow these again. It is easy to find tomatoes with much more flavor.
Date published: 2007-08-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Mealy Our salsas turned out to be very mealy. We wish we would have planted regular romas!!
Date published: 2007-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just about the worst ever I'm growing 5 varieties of tomatoes in my garden this year, and the salsa is one of them. I ordered 3 plants from Burpee. One I gave away, so I don't know anything about it. The second has produced fruit that look nothing like the salsa. It matures to a fruit that is red on the bottom half and remains unripe yellow on the top half no matter what I do. Top half is no good to eat. Bottom half has moderate flavor, but nothing to rave about. The third plant looks more like the Burpee photo on the exterior and has produced many, many fruit. But the fruit are horrible! The interior is completely dry and tasteless -- and I mean COMPLETELY dry. I've thrown every single one of them away. The other tomato varieties in the garden are doing nicely, and have produced beautiful, flavorful fruit. Only the salsa has been a problem. I would not recommend it and would not grow it again.
Date published: 2007-08-05
  • y_2017, m_11, d_21, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod000989, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_burpee