IMPORTANT: You are using an old browser. You will not be able to checkout using this browser for data security reasons. Please use another browser or upgrade this one to continue. Read more.

Ultimate Growing System

Short Description

72 cells and self watering.

Full Description

Grow like a pro! Use this seed-starting kit to grow bigger and better seedlings every time-we guarantee it. Developed by Burpee's experts, this all-in-one kit has everything you need to grow seeds just like the professionals. The big, reusable 72-cell tray makes it easy to start all your seeds in one unit. Each long-lasting kit includes a watering tray, 72-cell plant tray, plant stand, self-watering mat, greenhouse top, 72 Burpee Super Growing Cubes, Espoma organic fertilizer and six convenient plant markers.
Buy this product
Item # Product
Order
Quantity
Price
Item#: 98839
Order: Self Watering Replacement Mat
- +
$6.95
Add to Wish List

In Stock

Item#: 96004
Order: 1 Kit (72 Cells)
- +
$19.95
Add to Wish List

In Stock

Product properties

the burpee

difference

100%

satisfaction
guaranteed

non-gmo
since 1876

Images

Customer favorite
Enlarge Photo
Print Page
Ultimate Growing System is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 61.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointing soil didn't expand well with water. was a mess and ultimate growing results were really poor. total waste
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice starter I purchased this to start some of my Burpee Organic seedless tomato and pepper seeds. It worked exactly as stated in the directions. Great purchase if you are new or a seasoned gardener.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Never again!!! I bought this a little over a month a go and it's already damaged. The end of the base got hit a little and now there's a hole. The top was not stable and if any wind hit it, I'd find it in my driveway. All types of air got to my seeds and some didn't even sprout; if so they where small and week compared to another I purchased elsewhere
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sturdy easy to use I am new to gardening (about 4 years) I have tried to grow from seed before using other products. If they sprouted at all they didn't live long. With this system they are very strong and I have transplanted some already.
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great idea, disappointing results. Okay my first time seed starting. Researched and reviewed proper methods and attention during germination and subsequent attention and needs. Got less than stellar results, less than 40% germination. Retried, but same results. Those that did germinate and eventually into the ground are slowly taking hold and growing. Have had excellent weather (sun, rain, minimal winds, warm-hot temps). Will try again but with larger celled unit, which I went to and had almost 100% germination.
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good system I would suggest the larger cells. I have not started plants from seed in sometime but got limited edition tomato seeds. Works well.
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from could use improvement I've used this product for the first time this year. I used the pellets that came with it. I had fungal growth within 2 weeks and lost 80% to damping off. When I put my own starter mix in I had much better results. Also the trays could be more sturdy but I can't complain to much for a free item!
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Suggested improvement Plants came up in 5 days. However, the domed greenhouse lid is too small and does not fit the tray. I literally had to force it on.
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect starter got mine just in time to start my seedlings, it worked great. All my seeds germinated and are healthy, just waiting for safe weather to plant. The self watering feature is great in case you forget.
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better Set up my starter kit last night. Since I was using 50 seeds I only put 25 of the soil tablets in one of the grids, two seeds per. About 1/3 of the pods didn't expand and you have to be careful when you pour the water in or they will float and go sideways. After everything was set up the lid wouldn't quite fit, the contents are a little too tall. I've used individual pods to start my nasturtium seed for several years and will probably go back to that next year. Everything is in this kit but it doesn't all work or work well.
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy I thought it would be like the Jiffy pellets but it isn't. I will not purchase this item again, I will go back to the Jiffy system.
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I'm on my third planting....the plugs are too expensive...but it works with potting soil too, Got mine free with a minimum purchase, the best part is when you go to planting, I use a small dwell to push the plant out from the hole on the bottom of the plant tray....too easy. Plan on buying another.
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved loved loved! I bought this to start my seeds indoors this year instead of buying plants and it worked wonderfully! I used it with the seedling heat mat and for the first time, ALL the seeds germinated, including ALL the peppers. I've used other seed starting kits and didn't have much success. I usually end up having to buy plants but not this year! I'm going to buy another one to start my calibrachoas next year.
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Do Not Purchase When the pellet containers are filled with water they only expand enough to fill about 1/3 of the container. Only 7 pellets out of 144 filled the container like the directions stated. After filling and placing on my counter top all the water leaked out of one of the units. I noticed that the plastic container that held the water had 2 small areas where the water was coming from. I bought two of these and wish I had never seen them. Great idea but save yourself the headache.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great seed starter I bought this kit several years ago and have used it ever since. The plastic on the seed trays is pretty flimsy and I wish I had been more careful with it, but even with some tears, it is holding up okay. I refill with the coconut coir that comes in a brick, one of those fills two 72-cell seed trays. Wicking the water up in the fabric thing just works like a charm: they don't dry out, they don't rot. For the money, I was hoping it would hold up, and it has. When the thin seed trays finally give out, I can probably use others from other kits.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice product, but use your own mix This is my 4th season using this self watering system by Burpee. I own about 8 of them. I had to take one star off for the pellets that comes with the system. The pellets included with the 72 cell kit do not expand to fit the cell properly (not enough grow media). The pellets for the smaller kits fit just fine, you just have to be sure to feed your plants since the media does not contain any type of fertilizer (Burpee should have included suggestions for feeding with their instructions on how to use the product). I use my own seed starting mix instead and I have had great success. I took another star off because the bottom watering container is flimsy. I use a sturdy plastic reinforcements that I picked up from my local garden center. If you take care of the system they will last you for years.
Date published: 2016-02-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pellets are inconsistant I bought four seed starting kits with the pellets. The pellets do not absorb consistently. I turned them all the direction as shown in video and added the recommended amount of water. Not even close. All fout trays I had to remove pellets into a large mixing bowl and add about three times the amount of water to get them to dissolve. Then try and have enough to put back in trays. A real pain. Better off using seed starter in a bag and saving yourself the grief.
Date published: 2016-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yet Again Another Good Burpee Product Another Great Burpee product. The pellets expanded just as promised to exactly the right side with no troubles at all. I had 97% germination rate with this system. Half the plants germinated in the first 4 days. The plants grew great and made up my most successful garden yet Would definitely order again and recommend this product (and Burpee) to anyone. Sunflowerlover
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Growing system - Great / Soil - Horrendous! As far as the physical components of the growing system go, this is exactly as advertised and the durability is sufficient. However, the growth medium is sub-par at best. Not only are my peppers that were started three weeks earlier this year a third of the size that they were at this time last year (I keep a gardening journal with photos in case my memory fails me) but the soil pellets provided also developed a fungus that overwhelmed my Asters and Phlox so I bought two packets of seeds and have zero seedlings to show for it. They were literally cut off just above the soil and turned to mush. In an effort to save my peppers I bought different soil and transferred all of my seedlings over to the seed starter that I bought last year through a different company. I have always purchased my seeds through Burpee and will continue to do so however I will not ever be using their see starters again. This product could be used as long as you supplement a seed-starting soil or soil pellets from another distributer. I hope this helps.
Date published: 2015-04-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Handi Starter KitHhas Issues Fertilizer Packaging - The attractive packaging of the product has serious flaw in that the printing is to small for most adults to easily read. I tried two pair of glasses, a reading magnifier and a close work magnifier with out success. My wife tried and failed also. My son, in his 20's", was able to read the print aid of a magnifying glass. Using size 2 or possibly 4 print and a fancy font makes it difficult to gather need information when reading small print. Seed Cup Strength (thickness)- The seed starter kit is offered as a reusable piece of equipment for several seasons. I found that the material in the seed kits was to thin in places. I inadvertently punched several holes in the bottom of the seed cups while inserting the wooden marker sticks, with sharp points.. It is a shame that to minor issues can foul up a good product. In less than 7 days I have a mixed set of seeds sprouted EasyLyle Easton, NY
Date published: 2015-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from non-expanding cells I should have read the reviews. Like others state. These soil disks do not expand well and when they do, they will not fill the container. The system itself is fine for what it costs, but the disks need revision. If you purchase, you will need to buy a bag of appropriate growing soil to supplement to the container.To Burpee's credit, they did refund some of the purchase price.
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ultimate Growing Seed Starter Self Watering System Great concept, but needs some work. This is the second year I've tried the self watering system and both times I had fungi growing on top of the peat after the first week. So, I dumped the water from the bottom tray and let the peat dry out a little. I will only add water to the bottom tray as needed. I followed the direction exactly to make sure I wasn't missing something, but still had the fungi growth. Besides that, last year I had good plants I think I only lost one to what I thing was dampening off after dumping the excess water in the bottom tray.
Date published: 2015-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Growing System Experience I bought one of these plant starter systems about four years ago and decided I buy a second. As many of the reviews attest, the construction is not sturdy, but I have found they work well. I have found some of the peat pellets don't expand unless the water is dropped directly on them as the instructions state. The pellets also expand to fill the cell only about 70%, but I always transfer the plants to larger pots once they reach several inches in height. I also want to point out the shipping box can be used as a low budget grow light stand as shown in the accompanying photo. Cut the box open, and tape the corner with strong tape. I use "bright daylight" led bulbs ($10 each# in clamp-on shop lights #$9 each).
Date published: 2015-03-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good but could be better I ordered this unit and was somewhat disappointed when I began to use it. The main problem for me was the compressed peat cubes. As has been stated already in other reviews, over half of mine refused to expand no matter how much water or what temperature water was added. Those cubes that did expand only filled up the cells half way. I will now have to go and purchase some additional mix from a local place just to top off the cells. I like the design although the plastic does seem a bit flimsy. Seems the get what you pay for mantra applies here. I really like the 'self-watering' design and although it is technically not in action yet, I hope that it works.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average, could be better I planted this system so I don't have a read on overall performance yet. I have used a similar, better made product for many years for seed starting. This system is somewhat flimsy. The pellets did not expand as they are shown on package. Despite watering and rewatering they only expanded to 1/3 to 1/2 the growing cell. I had to crumble each pellet and add another type growing mix in order to fill the cells. At this point in the growing process if I had it to do again I would not purchase again. I would purchase the growing system type I already have and have reused for years.
Date published: 2015-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super easy! The only problem I have is with insects. But it works very well, at first I thought I wold have unequal water to the different cones. but it is remarkably uniform. the medium works well. I only have to add water once a week or less. I like that there are two trays so I can start one and start another batch a few weeks later so you get maturing plants every other week or so. Hen you transplant the first batch you can clean and sanitize the tray and start your third batch and so on... The only draw back is that you can't move it unless you empty the reservoir, it's too heavy and too fragile.
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Room for Improvement - could be Better! Ultimate Growing System (96004 - 1 Kit (72 Cells)) complaints: inconsistent pellet size-some 3x longer than others, cells fill unevenly. tray cover-insert incompatibility-cannot place cover properly on tray when inserts are in place. tray 10.5" wide, cover 10" wide cover too shallow With planting on risers there is no room for sprouted plants. Cover should be 3" higher/deeper. accolade: good seed germination
Date published: 2014-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! This starter kit worked wonders! My first year with indoor starts and almost everything bloomed and transferred well into my garden! Many Tomatos!
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Almost a great product As others stated, the system does work, but it could be so much better if it was made just a bit sturdier. For best success, first ensure the holes are punched all the way through the bottom of each cell so it can get water from the mat. Second, as you wet the pellets to expand them, poke them a bit with a toothpick so they expand fully. Following instructions, I experienced 94% germination and successful growth with the 8 trays I bought from Burpee and Home Depot. But, it was difficult to release the seedlings from some of the cells. Most just popped out with the rootball intact. However, despite great care and gentle handling, the flimsy plastic collapsed while trying to empty some of the cells, making it difficult to remove the seedlings without destroying them. The flimsy plastic also makes it difficult, if not impossible, to re-use the trays again next year. I understand "planned obsolescence" and "making things cheaply to force consumers to buy them again and again," but that doesn't mean I like it. Landfills are full of that junk. I'd have gladly paid $25-$30 each for similar trays made just a bit better made so as to be reusable, but I feel $20 is pretty steep for one-time use. Next year I'll try the competitor's Bio Dome system.
Date published: 2014-06-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mr. Burpee! Better quality please! I paid $20 for this and it is made of thin plastic. The kind of packaging materiel that you discard. This will be lucky to make it thru another season. I have to fuss with the top to get it to fit properly. It does work and you do not need to water every day.
Date published: 2014-05-11
  • y_2017, m_1, d_14, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod002627, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_burpee