IMPORTANT: You are using an old browser. You will not be able to checkout using this browser for data security reasons. Please use another browser or upgrade this one to continue. Read more.

72 Cell Self-Watering Ultimate Growing System

Short Description

Start all your seeds in one kit!

Full Description

Grow like a pro! Use this seed-starting kit to grow bigger and better seedlings every time-we guarantee it. Developed and tested by Burpee’s experts, this all-in-one self-watering kit promotes healthier root development and minimizes overwatering, giving you healthier, hardier plants. Each cell measures approximately 1.5” (w) by 1.5” (l) and 2”(h), are perfect for starting any herb, flower or vegetable.
This kit measures 10"(w) x 20"(l) and includes:
  • 2 planting trays (36 cells each)
  • 1 Self-watering mat
  • 2 plant stands
  • 1 watering tray
  • 72 Super Growing Pellets ™
  • 1 greenhouse dome
  • 2 Plant-o-grams ( diagram charts)
  • 6 4” plant markers
  • 1 1 oz. Espoma Organic Fertilizer
    US Design Patent No. D495,621
    Expert Tip: Place Super Growing Pellets flat-side down, and add warm water slowly for maximum expansion.
    Recommended for use with 9" x 19.5" Seedlings Heat Mat
  • Buy this product
    Item # Product
    Order
    Quantity
    Price
    Item#: 98839
    Order: Self Watering Replacement Mat
    - +
    $6.95
    Add to Wish List

    In Stock

    Item#: 96004
    Order: 1 Kit (72 Cells)
    - +
    $19.95
    Add to Wish List

    In Stock

    Product properties

    the burpee

    difference

    100%

    satisfaction
    guaranteed

    non-gmo
    since 1876

    Images

    Customer favorite
    Enlarge Photo
    Print Page
    72 Cell Self-Watering Ultimate Growing System is rated 2.9 out of 5 by 74.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from seed starting greenhouse kit I am not pleased with the amount of medium in the pellet.
    Date published: 2017-03-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from This Item Is Nothing But Garbage 1) The pellets did not expand at all. After putting on the recommended 9 cups of warm water nothing happened. After a half hour I decided to put the planting trays with pellets directly into the watering tray and added more warm water. NOTHING! 2) The greenhouse dome does not fit correctly on the planting trays but that's ok. I'll never get anything to grow in the system anyway. 3) With the plant stands in the watering tray and self-watering mat over them there is not enough room to add water to the watering tray. 4) Etc. Etc. Etc! Over all this system is totally worthless. After contacting customer support they told me to return the system and once they received it they would give me a refund. Well after getting a box to return them in and paying shipping costs it would cost me more than the system did in the first place. Do Not Waste Your Time or Money. Next time I'll get some Dixie cups and potting soil and do it like the first graders!
    Date published: 2017-03-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Something Wrong This Year With the Growing Medium Last year, I had no problem with this system, so I bought several more this year. There is definitely something wrong with the pellets, the growing medium that is supposed to easily fluff up with warm water added, after you put each pellet flat side down in each cell. Put simply: it does not fluff up, but remains hard. I have now been working on my Burpee tray for over an hour and a half and the growing medium is still hard and chunky, not anything you'd want to plant your tomato seeds in! This is my second tray of 72 cells, self watering, and both are defective due to the hard-as-rock growing medium that no amount of slowly-added warm water, or stirring with a spoon, will fluff up. The first tray took me two hours, and even then, I had to 'top off' each of the 72 cells with another, nicer grower medium. A system I bought from a different company, was ready for planting in a few minutes flat. Burpee, check your supplier! Something is wrong this year.
    Date published: 2017-02-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Need Help The pellets don't expand. Set came without clear greenhouse dome. No link to customer service on the website
    Date published: 2017-02-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst seeding system ever Despite reading some of the negative reviews I decided to go ahead and try this thinking that those with poor results just didn't follow directions. I received my kit, which is not as sturdy as other kits I have tried, but what the heck. It is just for seeds right? I followed directions to a tee! After putting warm water in each cell as directed - and yes I measured precisely, then waiting the miracle rapid expanding dirt, didn't expand. So I took the trays and submerged them in warm water for an hour, put the trays on a warming mat with lid on and STILL no expansion. This system is worthless if you can't even plant seeds! There are others in they same price range that work beautifully. Don't throw your money away on this one.
    Date published: 2017-02-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from So quality goes and price goes up I bought this XL grower in Walmart. Previous reviews were spot on. Quality of the pan, legs need help. Filmsy at best and will tear when water is added. Suggest a lip filler. Water Mat is good. Starter filler is uneven at best and downright skimpy for me. Plants send out roots too soon and block the pod. I had to clip platic pod to transplant early. Impossible to get plants out at times too. Thus pods are damaged and leak growing medium everywhere. Burpee increase price a LITTLE and keep quality good so I can trust your product. I will refill my own pods rather than trust your refills now.
    Date published: 2016-12-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Started our better than it ended Thought I would try this kit. Big mistake. I started two kinds of peppers and one tomato variety. I've been gardening for 35 years, so I know how to do this. Very poor quality growing medium. I should have bought the seeds and planted them in a different seed starter. Week 2, the seedlings looked a little weak, but I thought that would resolve after good sunshine and tender care. Week 3, just about time to plant, the plants are literally dying. There is mold all over the surface of the tiny growing cells, the plants are weak, spindly and drooping. This is not a success, and I will be asking for a refund. Wasted all of the seeds, so I'll be heading out to the local nursery for my plants.
    Date published: 2016-05-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from makes soil too soggy Wanted an underwatering system to solve the ever present issue of dampening off caused by overhead watering. However, this system leaves the soil constantly soggy. As a result, every single cell molded over, despite living in an arid state and despite masochistically sterilizing prior to use. Seedlings need SLIGHTLY moist soil to succeed, and this system only creates soppy conditions. Had to remove capillary mats and return to overhead watering, but many of my seeds and seedlings are already toast.
    Date published: 2016-05-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pellets are not user friendly Overall this product is just ok. The pellets require some work to make most of them "work" like stated. Otherwise I am pleased with the unit.
    Date published: 2016-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made such a difference in germination rate and tim
    Date published: 2016-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well but... I seem to have the same problem as other that have given a review. The over all product is Very good and works well but the soil pellets do not do their job well at all! I would use your own seed soil you buy in a bag. My seed are all plaints now and almost ready for outside planting.
    Date published: 2016-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this peoduct Found this planting system easy to use. A few of the dirt pellets needed a little help with a fork to properly expand. All of my seeds sprouted and are growing well
    Date published: 2016-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great system I was able to get my own seedlings going this year. This really took the guess work out of watering. The only problem was that the end plants didn't get as much water as the middle.
    Date published: 2016-04-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointing soil didn't expand well with water. was a mess and ultimate growing results were really poor. total waste
    Date published: 2016-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice starter I purchased this to start some of my Burpee Organic seedless tomato and pepper seeds. It worked exactly as stated in the directions. Great purchase if you are new or a seasoned gardener.
    Date published: 2016-04-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Never again!!! I bought this a little over a month a go and it's already damaged. The end of the base got hit a little and now there's a hole. The top was not stable and if any wind hit it, I'd find it in my driveway. All types of air got to my seeds and some didn't even sprout; if so they where small and week compared to another I purchased elsewhere
    Date published: 2016-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sturdy easy to use I am new to gardening (about 4 years) I have tried to grow from seed before using other products. If they sprouted at all they didn't live long. With this system they are very strong and I have transplanted some already.
    Date published: 2016-04-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great idea, disappointing results. Okay my first time seed starting. Researched and reviewed proper methods and attention during germination and subsequent attention and needs. Got less than stellar results, less than 40% germination. Retried, but same results. Those that did germinate and eventually into the ground are slowly taking hold and growing. Have had excellent weather (sun, rain, minimal winds, warm-hot temps). Will try again but with larger celled unit, which I went to and had almost 100% germination.
    Date published: 2016-04-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good system I would suggest the larger cells. I have not started plants from seed in sometime but got limited edition tomato seeds. Works well.
    Date published: 2016-04-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from could use improvement I've used this product for the first time this year. I used the pellets that came with it. I had fungal growth within 2 weeks and lost 80% to damping off. When I put my own starter mix in I had much better results. Also the trays could be more sturdy but I can't complain to much for a free item!
    Date published: 2016-04-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Suggested improvement Plants came up in 5 days. However, the domed greenhouse lid is too small and does not fit the tray. I literally had to force it on.
    Date published: 2016-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect starter got mine just in time to start my seedlings, it worked great. All my seeds germinated and are healthy, just waiting for safe weather to plant. The self watering feature is great in case you forget.
    Date published: 2016-04-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better Set up my starter kit last night. Since I was using 50 seeds I only put 25 of the soil tablets in one of the grids, two seeds per. About 1/3 of the pods didn't expand and you have to be careful when you pour the water in or they will float and go sideways. After everything was set up the lid wouldn't quite fit, the contents are a little too tall. I've used individual pods to start my nasturtium seed for several years and will probably go back to that next year. Everything is in this kit but it doesn't all work or work well.
    Date published: 2016-04-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy I thought it would be like the Jiffy pellets but it isn't. I will not purchase this item again, I will go back to the Jiffy system.
    Date published: 2016-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I'm on my third planting....the plugs are too expensive...but it works with potting soil too, Got mine free with a minimum purchase, the best part is when you go to planting, I use a small dwell to push the plant out from the hole on the bottom of the plant tray....too easy. Plan on buying another.
    Date published: 2016-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved loved loved! I bought this to start my seeds indoors this year instead of buying plants and it worked wonderfully! I used it with the seedling heat mat and for the first time, ALL the seeds germinated, including ALL the peppers. I've used other seed starting kits and didn't have much success. I usually end up having to buy plants but not this year! I'm going to buy another one to start my calibrachoas next year.
    Date published: 2016-04-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Do Not Purchase When the pellet containers are filled with water they only expand enough to fill about 1/3 of the container. Only 7 pellets out of 144 filled the container like the directions stated. After filling and placing on my counter top all the water leaked out of one of the units. I noticed that the plastic container that held the water had 2 small areas where the water was coming from. I bought two of these and wish I had never seen them. Great idea but save yourself the headache.
    Date published: 2016-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great seed starter I bought this kit several years ago and have used it ever since. The plastic on the seed trays is pretty flimsy and I wish I had been more careful with it, but even with some tears, it is holding up okay. I refill with the coconut coir that comes in a brick, one of those fills two 72-cell seed trays. Wicking the water up in the fabric thing just works like a charm: they don't dry out, they don't rot. For the money, I was hoping it would hold up, and it has. When the thin seed trays finally give out, I can probably use others from other kits.
    Date published: 2016-03-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice product, but use your own mix This is my 4th season using this self watering system by Burpee. I own about 8 of them. I had to take one star off for the pellets that comes with the system. The pellets included with the 72 cell kit do not expand to fit the cell properly (not enough grow media). The pellets for the smaller kits fit just fine, you just have to be sure to feed your plants since the media does not contain any type of fertilizer (Burpee should have included suggestions for feeding with their instructions on how to use the product). I use my own seed starting mix instead and I have had great success. I took another star off because the bottom watering container is flimsy. I use a sturdy plastic reinforcements that I picked up from my local garden center. If you take care of the system they will last you for years.
    Date published: 2016-02-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pellets are inconsistant I bought four seed starting kits with the pellets. The pellets do not absorb consistently. I turned them all the direction as shown in video and added the recommended amount of water. Not even close. All fout trays I had to remove pellets into a large mixing bowl and add about three times the amount of water to get them to dissolve. Then try and have enough to put back in trays. A real pain. Better off using seed starter in a bag and saving yourself the grief.
    Date published: 2016-02-21
    • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_74
    • loc_en_US, sid_prod002627, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_burpee