IMPORTANT: You are using an old browser. You will not be able to checkout using this browser for data security reasons. Please use another browser or upgrade this one to continue. Read more.

72 Cell Self-Watering Ultimate Growing System

Short Description

Start all your seeds in one kit!

Full Description

Grow like a pro! Use this seed-starting kit to grow bigger and better seedlings every time-we guarantee it. Developed and tested by Burpee’s experts, this all-in-one self-watering kit promotes healthier root development and minimizes overwatering, giving you healthier, hardier plants. Each cell measures approximately 1.5” (w) by 1.5” (l) and 2”(h), are perfect for starting any herb, flower or vegetable.
This kit measures 10"(w) x 20"(l) and includes:
  • 2 planting trays (36 cells each)
  • 1 Self-watering mat
  • 2 plant stands
  • 1 watering tray
  • 72 Super Growing Pellets ™
  • 1 greenhouse dome
  • 2 Plant-o-grams ( diagram charts)
  • 6 4” plant markers
  • 1 1 oz. Espoma Organic Fertilizer
    US Design Patent No. D495,621
    Expert Tip: Place Super Growing Pellets flat-side down, and add warm water slowly for maximum expansion.
    Recommended for use with 9" x 19.5" Seedlings Heat Mat
  • Buy this product
    Item # Product
    Order
    Quantity
    Price
    Item#: 98839
    Order: Self Watering Replacement Mat
    - +
    $6.95
    Add to Wish List

    In Stock

    Item#: 96004
    Order: 1 Kit (72 Cells)
    - +
    $19.95
    Add to Wish List

    In Stock

    Product properties

    the burpee

    difference

    100%

    satisfaction
    guaranteed

    non-gmo
    since 1876

    Images

    Customer favorite
    Enlarge Photo
    Print Page
    72 Cell Self-Watering Ultimate Growing System is rated 2.8 out of 5 by 86.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I just bought a few months ago and I already used it work great
    Date published: 2017-05-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from doesn't work The pellets are far too small to fill the cells and although I followed the directions and even left the pellets in the cells overnight, in the morning the pellets still had not expanded, clearly not getting enough water from the watering mat. Waste of money:(
    Date published: 2017-05-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work as advertised I bought this kit last night, followed the instructions to a T. They did not expand so I had to break them all up myself which was pretty difficult and time consuming. Once they were all broken up they filled 1/4 of the cell. And because they didn't expand they left the cells drowning in water. I put my seeds in and left it overnight thinking that maybe the soil would absorb the rest of the water but I woke up this morning to no change. I'm thinking I'm going to need to start over because there's just not enough soil in them. To add insult to injury, it was missing a few of the soil blocks...
    Date published: 2017-04-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't bother I was given this as a gift. As an avid gardener, I would have never purchased it myself. It's complicated, and doesn't work well. I'm going to use regular seed starter mix in it. Don't purchase! This is a waste of money.
    Date published: 2017-04-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't bother Six hours of soaking pellets and they still have not expanded. Followed directions and nothing in three hours. submerged them completely i warm water for another three hours and still nothing. I will leave overnight and see if anything happens. Review will not allow Zero stars
    Date published: 2017-04-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Soil pellets do not expand, clear top does not fit. Seems poorly designed. Would give zero stars if possible.
    Date published: 2017-04-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Complete Failure Bought this for the wife's flower seeds. Followed instructions to a tee, but pellets failed to expand properly (they may have doubled in size, but that's all). We wound up breaking up the pellets and adding seed starting media. A waste of money. Burpee, you need better QC!
    Date published: 2017-04-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Somethings Changed. I've been buying your seed starting tray for 4 seasons now, and part of the reason why I loved them was because your pellets expanded fully to fit the wells without much fuss and I would get 90% success in all of my seeds. But this year, I'm disappointed. Not only did your pellets fail to expand like they have in previous years (they barely filled half of the well), but less than half of my seeds got past the 2 leaf stage, if even emerged at all. I liked your system and the success that it provided, but now, I don't. Bummer. :(
    Date published: 2017-03-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from No Instant Swelling I regret to say that I ignored the reviews that I read that suggested that the pellets would not swell in seconds as advertised. The watering system seems cool and with a bag of potting soil, I can get it to work. But my advice is to NOT buy this if you are counting on instantly swelling pellets.
    Date published: 2017-03-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work as advertised. I followed the directions exactly, but the cells did not expand in seconds like it said they would. After adding more water and giving plenty of time, I called customer service and was told that I need to break each cell up by hand or with a fork - all 72 of them. After doing that, many of them still did not expand very well and I had to add my own potting soil. It was much more time consuming than it should have been! Also, the flimsy plastic lid does not fit properly.
    Date published: 2017-03-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Flimsy construction; planting medium does not work Seed start kit, while economical, was of much flimsier construction than I expected. Grow pellets don't work. (I added warm water slowly as instructed. It all ran off. then I tried soaking them in warm water. That was hours ago; they still have not expanded to fill even a third of the volume of each cell.) I will need to make an unexpected trip to buy potting materials. Since convenience was my main reason for buying a kit in the first place, this kit has fallen far, far short of my expectations.
    Date published: 2017-03-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely disappointed I ordered from this site because I have been very pleased with seeds and plants purchased previously. This "system" is overpriced for the flimsy nature of its construction, and the growing medium pellets do not expand at all.
    Date published: 2017-03-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from seed starting greenhouse kit I am not pleased with the amount of medium in the pellet.
    Date published: 2017-03-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from This Item Is Nothing But Garbage 1) The pellets did not expand at all. After putting on the recommended 9 cups of warm water nothing happened. After a half hour I decided to put the planting trays with pellets directly into the watering tray and added more warm water. NOTHING! 2) The greenhouse dome does not fit correctly on the planting trays but that's ok. I'll never get anything to grow in the system anyway. 3) With the plant stands in the watering tray and self-watering mat over them there is not enough room to add water to the watering tray. 4) Etc. Etc. Etc! Over all this system is totally worthless. After contacting customer support they told me to return the system and once they received it they would give me a refund. Well after getting a box to return them in and paying shipping costs it would cost me more than the system did in the first place. Do Not Waste Your Time or Money. Next time I'll get some Dixie cups and potting soil and do it like the first graders!
    Date published: 2017-03-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Something Wrong This Year With the Growing Medium Last year, I had no problem with this system, so I bought several more this year. There is definitely something wrong with the pellets, the growing medium that is supposed to easily fluff up with warm water added, after you put each pellet flat side down in each cell. Put simply: it does not fluff up, but remains hard. I have now been working on my Burpee tray for over an hour and a half and the growing medium is still hard and chunky, not anything you'd want to plant your tomato seeds in! This is my second tray of 72 cells, self watering, and both are defective due to the hard-as-rock growing medium that no amount of slowly-added warm water, or stirring with a spoon, will fluff up. The first tray took me two hours, and even then, I had to 'top off' each of the 72 cells with another, nicer grower medium. A system I bought from a different company, was ready for planting in a few minutes flat. Burpee, check your supplier! Something is wrong this year.
    Date published: 2017-02-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Need Help The pellets don't expand. Set came without clear greenhouse dome. No link to customer service on the website
    Date published: 2017-02-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst seeding system ever Despite reading some of the negative reviews I decided to go ahead and try this thinking that those with poor results just didn't follow directions. I received my kit, which is not as sturdy as other kits I have tried, but what the heck. It is just for seeds right? I followed directions to a tee! After putting warm water in each cell as directed - and yes I measured precisely, then waiting the miracle rapid expanding dirt, didn't expand. So I took the trays and submerged them in warm water for an hour, put the trays on a warming mat with lid on and STILL no expansion. This system is worthless if you can't even plant seeds! There are others in they same price range that work beautifully. Don't throw your money away on this one.
    Date published: 2017-02-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from So quality goes and price goes up I bought this XL grower in Walmart. Previous reviews were spot on. Quality of the pan, legs need help. Filmsy at best and will tear when water is added. Suggest a lip filler. Water Mat is good. Starter filler is uneven at best and downright skimpy for me. Plants send out roots too soon and block the pod. I had to clip platic pod to transplant early. Impossible to get plants out at times too. Thus pods are damaged and leak growing medium everywhere. Burpee increase price a LITTLE and keep quality good so I can trust your product. I will refill my own pods rather than trust your refills now.
    Date published: 2016-12-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Started our better than it ended Thought I would try this kit. Big mistake. I started two kinds of peppers and one tomato variety. I've been gardening for 35 years, so I know how to do this. Very poor quality growing medium. I should have bought the seeds and planted them in a different seed starter. Week 2, the seedlings looked a little weak, but I thought that would resolve after good sunshine and tender care. Week 3, just about time to plant, the plants are literally dying. There is mold all over the surface of the tiny growing cells, the plants are weak, spindly and drooping. This is not a success, and I will be asking for a refund. Wasted all of the seeds, so I'll be heading out to the local nursery for my plants.
    Date published: 2016-05-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from makes soil too soggy Wanted an underwatering system to solve the ever present issue of dampening off caused by overhead watering. However, this system leaves the soil constantly soggy. As a result, every single cell molded over, despite living in an arid state and despite masochistically sterilizing prior to use. Seedlings need SLIGHTLY moist soil to succeed, and this system only creates soppy conditions. Had to remove capillary mats and return to overhead watering, but many of my seeds and seedlings are already toast.
    Date published: 2016-05-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pellets are not user friendly Overall this product is just ok. The pellets require some work to make most of them "work" like stated. Otherwise I am pleased with the unit.
    Date published: 2016-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made such a difference in germination rate and tim
    Date published: 2016-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well but... I seem to have the same problem as other that have given a review. The over all product is Very good and works well but the soil pellets do not do their job well at all! I would use your own seed soil you buy in a bag. My seed are all plaints now and almost ready for outside planting.
    Date published: 2016-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this peoduct Found this planting system easy to use. A few of the dirt pellets needed a little help with a fork to properly expand. All of my seeds sprouted and are growing well
    Date published: 2016-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great system I was able to get my own seedlings going this year. This really took the guess work out of watering. The only problem was that the end plants didn't get as much water as the middle.
    Date published: 2016-04-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointing soil didn't expand well with water. was a mess and ultimate growing results were really poor. total waste
    Date published: 2016-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice starter I purchased this to start some of my Burpee Organic seedless tomato and pepper seeds. It worked exactly as stated in the directions. Great purchase if you are new or a seasoned gardener.
    Date published: 2016-04-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Never again!!! I bought this a little over a month a go and it's already damaged. The end of the base got hit a little and now there's a hole. The top was not stable and if any wind hit it, I'd find it in my driveway. All types of air got to my seeds and some didn't even sprout; if so they where small and week compared to another I purchased elsewhere
    Date published: 2016-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sturdy easy to use I am new to gardening (about 4 years) I have tried to grow from seed before using other products. If they sprouted at all they didn't live long. With this system they are very strong and I have transplanted some already.
    Date published: 2016-04-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great idea, disappointing results. Okay my first time seed starting. Researched and reviewed proper methods and attention during germination and subsequent attention and needs. Got less than stellar results, less than 40% germination. Retried, but same results. Those that did germinate and eventually into the ground are slowly taking hold and growing. Have had excellent weather (sun, rain, minimal winds, warm-hot temps). Will try again but with larger celled unit, which I went to and had almost 100% germination.
    Date published: 2016-04-24
    • y_2017, m_7, d_19, h_5
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_86
    • loc_en_US, sid_prod002627, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_burpee