IMPORTANT: You are using an old browser. You will not be able to checkout using this browser for data security reasons. Please use another browser or upgrade this one to continue. Read more.

32 XL Cell Self-Watering Eco Friendly Ultimate Growing System

Short Description

100% compostable kit recommended for deep-rooted varieties like tomatoes, peppers, and eggplants!

Full Description

Our classic XL Ultimate Growing System made from 100% compostable, plant-based materials. This Burpee-innovated seed starting kit has everything you need to grow even the largest of seedlings. Extra-large cells measure 2.25" (w) x 2.25" (l) x 2" (h), and encourage your plants to develop big, strong root systems and minimize transplant shock, giving you healthier plants. This kit’s self-watering system allows for easy care and accelerated plant growth.

This kit measures 10”(w) x 20”(l) and includes:

  • Two 16-cell planting trays
  • Two plant stands
  • 1 watering tray
  • 32 Super Growing Pellets ™
  • 1 self watering mat
  • 2 Bio-degradable germination sheets
  • 2 plant-o-grams
  • 3 3” wooden stakes
  • 1 pack Espoma Organic Fertilizer

US Design Patent No. D495,621
Expert Tip: Place Super Growing Pellets flat-side down, and add warm water slowly for maximum expansion.
Recommended for use with 9" x 19.5" Seedlings Heat Mat

Buy this product
Item # Product
Order
Quantity
Price
Item#: 97017
Order: 1 Kit (32 Cells)
- +
$23.95
Add to Wish List

In Stock

Product properties

Restrictions:

Item 97017 cannot ship to: AA, AE, AK, AP, AS, CN, FM, GU, HI, MH, MP, PR, PW, VI
See all Burpee plant shipping restrictions for your state

the burpee

difference

100%

satisfaction
guaranteed

non-gmo
since 1876

Images

Customer favorite
Enlarge Photo
Print Page
32 XL Cell Self-Watering Eco Friendly Ultimate Growing System is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 25.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to use. Very easy to use product, pellots are amazing, and expand to fill in seconds. Planted 3 days ago and I already have sprouts coming out under the grow light. Items arrived with minor cracks in the plastic, but nothing that will prevent use. Well designed system burpee!
Date published: 2012-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from XL Eco Friendly Ultimate Growing System Planters could be deeper and a plastic Hot House cover would be useful.
Date published: 2012-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Cat's Meow! This system is amazing! First, the larger cells means that seedlings need not be transplanted as quickly as smaller ones require. But the best part is the self-watering feature! The cells stayed uniformly damp and since the water comes up from the bottom, there is no danger of water from the top forcing the seeds lower into the cells, slowing germination. I originally ordered 2, but bought 2 more when I saw just how effortless and efficient this system is! There's no need for any green thumb either!
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from seeds made easy Just received my ultimate growing system. It arrived in just a few days. The quality is good for the money. Anxious to see how well the self watering system works!
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from growing system It was a bit upsetting when the tray began to smell rancid... the idea is to keep wet not soak--so tell buyers not to fill tray all the way up. just keep ti moist not wet. it goes bad when there is to much water. it was not clear in the instructions how much water to keep in the tray. I had to take apart and clean the scum put and start all over because of this misunderstanding.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like this system. Loved the germinating sheet, plant tags and Plant-O-Gram that came with the kit. Directions say to place in desired location because moving may be difficult, heed the warning. I went to move the system once it was full and ready and spilled the water all over; luckily I was on concrete so I didn't make a mess. Great product and I plan to re-use as much of it as I can.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from XL Eco System is VERY friendly! I love this mini greenhouse. It's very easy to use, clean, no water drips, and all 32 of my seedlings are sprouting mightily within two weeks! I'm going to order another one (minus the plastic sheets, which I'll reuse).
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Growing System Works well, but over time lack of moisture control leads to fungi growth. Managable, but must watch. Durable and well built.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome seed starting tray I have had a lot of success with this seed starting tray. The cells are much larger than many trays so with smaller transplants you don't even have to put them into another container before setting them out.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from seed starter kit works great The XL Eco Friendly Ultimate Growing System works very well for starting seeds indoors. Used in conjunction with a grow light, it was easy to keep the plants watered. Root development went out the bottom of the cells seeking the moisture in the wicking mat. I will continue to use this system in years to come.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Amateur I probably am not the best person to question how I rate this product, as this was my first attempt in using such a device. I did as the instructions, I think, told me to do, but I used a grow light instead of direct sunlight, since I don't have too much window space to put this device. I attempted to grow some petunia's, tomato's and green pepper seeds. For one thing I didn't know that petunia seeds are the size of pinheads, and really couldn't see them as they landed into various containers in this device, bunching up quite a few in two or three of them. The other seeds, tomato's and pepper's, where much easier to see and plant. Well, I followed the instructions and as soon as the seedlings popped up, I took the plastic cover off, because the vegetable seedlings had been pushing on the cover. And the flower seedlings had all popped up but were really tiny. Anyway...about a week later, everything was dying. As I didn't know why, I gave up and decided to get plants instead, as I usually do each year. I guess I don't have the knack to do them by seeds. Maybe I goofed with the lighting. I used a fluorescent grow light inside of a twistable neck floor lamp, about a foot from the seedling bed. Too close? I left it on for about 12 hours each day, shutting it off at night. Was that wrong to do? This device offered self watering, and I kept the water level to the correct level. I didn't have a heating mat, but it was sitting on top of an Edenpure heater (top is cool to the touch) Anyway, I give it 3 stars because of my ignorance, although it probably deserves 5 stars to professionals.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from truly the ultimate! I love this system! very easy to use--loved it so much I ordered a second, third and fourth set!. got the heat mat to go with them!
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from XL Eco Friendly Ultimate Growing System I Haven't use it yet. Instructions not clear. Where do I assemble the cone shape section? I have very good results with all my other Burpee products. XL Eco Friendly Ultimate Growing System
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seed starting The XL Eco growing system was a snap to use and worked as advertised. This thing takes a lot of the worry out of trying to keep the water right when trying to get the seeds out of the ground. when I saw the results I ordered 2nd. unit to expand my seed growing capacity.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from seed starter first time using the seed starter. I'm a newbie to this, so still learning, directions are pretty good, but some extra assistance or resources for first timers would be helpful. All my seedlings are sprouting, so it seems to have done the job. Has everything you need to get started but the seeds.
Date published: 2012-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Eco Friendly Growing System is inferior I just purchased my second ultimate growing system (the last one lasted several years and would have lasted longer if I had not left it out on the porch all winter). I thought the new "Eco Friendly" version sounded nice and I was willing to spend the extra $3.00. So I opened it last night and was surprised to see that almost everything seemed to be made out of plastic or cloth, just like the regular version. The only change was that the clear plastic top (that acted like a mini-greenhouse until the seedlings were a couple ofinches high) has been replaced by a couple ofbiodegradable plastic-type bags, just like the kind used for produce in grocery stores, which I was supposed to lay on top of the dirt, removing them immediately once the delicate seedlings emerged. That would that no doubt damage some seedlings but the seedlings would have lost the benefit of being in a moist, warm mini-greenhouse for several weeks. Luckily I still had the clear plastic top from the old kit and it fits fine. My four stars are really an average: 5 stars for the old version, 3 for the new version with the plastic bags. So don't waste your money on the "Eco Friendly" version, go with the older version that worked better.
Date published: 2012-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good I just received mine yesterday and it is definitely worth the price. This one is far better than the other one Burpee was selling. I'll post updates as I'll be starting some flowers in the next few weeks. In addition, the shipping was fast. I ordered mine on Tuesday and it arrived Friday. Wow!
Date published: 2012-01-28
  • y_2017, m_9, d_16, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_prod002635, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_burpee