Bill-e-Bear Seedling

Bill-e-Bear

Dealing with deer and other pests

I'm new to all this. I have a HUGE backyard and I know we have Wild Turkey, Deer and Fox.

This is going to be my fist garden without a gardener or landscaper.

What is the best way to stop them from eating my garden.

My new neighbors told me to put up a 6-8 foot fence.

I hate the look of a high fenced around a garden.

Thanks All

Bill-e-Bear

Views: 3455 Replies: 5 Date: 2012-03-24T08:19:06.000Z
Result Count: 5

Tools

barbara-b

barbara-b

Re: Dealing with deer and other pests

I have tried everything to fend off deer in my garden over the many years. Around 5 years ago, I got a tip from a fellow member of a Garden Club. She gave me a recipe that her Grandma gave to her and is as follows: take an empty gallon milk jug. To it add 1 raw egg, 1 cup minced garlic ( the kind you can buy in a jar in the grocery store) and 1 cup vinegar (doesn't matter white or cider). Add water to fill the jug and shake like crazy- you might even let it sit a day. Then strain this through an old pantyhose or some other fine mesh material and pour into a sprayer. I use old sprayer bottles or for the large garden, I put it into my commercial sprayer. I guess I have about a 1/2 acre vegetable garden every year and this truly stops them from devouring my plants!! I have actually seen a deer in my plants take a nip and walk away.It has really saved my garden and it doesn't make your yard smell either. Hope you try it!Cool

2012-03-25T05:58:43.000Z

REPORT ABUSE

Soil Stomper

NewYorkMillet

It sounds silly, but my mom always sprinkled her plants with moth balls to keep the deer away. Barbara's suggestion sounds interesting. Let us know if it works!

2012-03-27T08:12:19.000Z

REPORT ABUSE

Garden Guru

burpee

Deer don’t eat what they can’t see so a high stockade fence can help. Also try to plant plants they don’t l Deer generally don’t like: