SaipanRomeo Soil Stomper

SaipanRomeo

Island gardening help requested...

Hello, I am a rookie gardener looking for any useful advice, for my situation... I have grown a few things like rosemary and cilantro in the past off and on and I have read countless online articles.

I live in the US Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands on the island of Saipan (Guam is down island), according to my research, I am in Zone 9.  

The reality of it is there are very few articles for Zone 9 and the few that do exist, really don't pertain to my situation (its pretty much the same tempature/humidity level all year round). Please note that I have found some sites and articles for Hawai'i, but Hawai'i is a bit cooler than us... So yeah its the same, but different...

This time I'll be planting in containers on my balcony (kinda roomy for a balcony), the balcony faces South and I live on the West side (the beach is accross the street) of the island so it great for shade from the afternoon sun and gets plenty of sun in the morning.

Currently I have a small oregeno plant that I clipped from a friend that I made a few mistakes, but have since figured it out.

I will be planting cilantro and rosemary in the next few days and I am seriously considering doing some tomatoes (hanging).

Does anyone have any useful tips/advice for me? Any useful advice will be apprciated... Blesssngs

Views: 655 Replies: 4 Date: 2014-01-08T04:38:49.000Z
Result Count: 4

Tools

Garden Guru

burpee

Re: Island gardening help requested...