dlahrson Seedling

dlahrson

Weeds in a vegetable garden

Last season my vegetable garden was overrun by weeds, I could not keep on top of them by pulling I just had to give up. I did have vegetables grow in amongst the weeds.  This year I am looking for something I can do before I plant (by the end of May) to get rid of the weeds. I am fairly new to gardening so I don't know what I can put in the garden to combat them that wouldn't hurt the vegetables or pets. My husband said we might have to dig out the soil and put new soil down but if I can do something else I would rather not have to remove the soil. HELP!!

Views: 2198 Replies: 4 Date: 2013-03-25T20:49:39.000Z
Result Count: 4

Tools

towngardener

Re: Weeds in a vegetable garden

Mulch, mulch, mulch!  I use straw (not hay, that brings more weeds)  Also, I fill in all available space with plants (sticking to or going slightly closer than spacing recommendations)--less room for weeds.  I weed a lot when they are tiny sprouts, so they don't go to seed, and I have raised beds.  Once the squash and corn get going, I don't bother--they can handle the weeds, and shade a lot out anyway.  If I don't have any plants I'm wintering over, I'll use Round-up in the fall, and spring (watching out for my herbs).  I also roto-till every spring.  Each year gets better.

2013-04-29T17:57:37.000Z

REPORT ABUSE

KateCopsey Soil Stomper

KateCopsey

Have you thought of raised beds? The soil mix that you put into a raised bed is basically weed free and they vegetables grow well in the soft soil. I also find it much easier to control the weeds. On average I spent 15 mins per bed last year per week which is considerably less than if I had tilled up a garden. Mel's book (mentioned above) is a great primer but there are also lots of variations on the theme - so check your local library.