PinkThumb425 Seedling

PinkThumb425

My 1st Fall Garden (2nd Season Gardening)

This is my first year doing a 2nd season garden and I am extremely excited to start it. Laughing I am moving into a new house in 2 weeks so there is no real reason to start it where I am now so I am getting real anxious. I have started to germinate a few of my seeds which I am not sure if I should have done since I did some reading today and found out that everything should have been a direct sow. So I have a few questions since I am new to fall gardening. I usually plant a few things during the spring/summer but I am far from a master gardener but I hope with a few more years I hope to be.

I ordered two plants from burpees.com; broccoli and cabbage and seeds for carrots, lettuce, green beans, spinach, collards, kale, and cucumbers. And from my local nursey I bought some more seeds mostly herbs and a few repeats of seeds I got online.(BusyBee in Glenwood Illinois is going out of business and all the seeds are 5/$1 and the pots are all 60% off) I really wanted to do onions and garlic but I wasn't sure with living in Chicago how everything would turn out and I didn't want to spend a whole lot of money and barely get anything in return.

So my main question is how do I go about getting my garden to grow and have a very plentiful garden? Also what is a good fertilizer to use? Also any tips that have worked for others in the Chicagoland area? I am extremely grateful for any help anyone is willing to give to me. Thanks in advance.

Views: 2534 Replies: 2 Date: 2012-09-16T16:25:41.000Z
Result Count: 2

Tools

Garden Guru

burpee

Re: My 1st Fall Garden (2nd Season Gardening)

Everything except the collards, cucumbers and green beans are fine for the fall. The cucumbers, beans and collards can’t take any frost so I don’t know if they will have time to develop. Don’t plant basil outside in the fall they can’t take any frost, however you can plant basil inside in a sunny window for winter use.