GardeningMom Soil Stomper

GardeningMom

Ideas for gardening with kids

I'm fairly new to gardening and am still learning myself, but I'd like to find fun and creative ways to get my kids involved. Any advice, ideas or resources would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Views: 4645 Replies: 7 Date: 2012-03-16T15:11:20.000Z
Result Count: 7

Tools

oldedg

oldedg

Re: Ideas for gardening with kids

Lots of way. Let them have their own section of the garden and grow radishes. Grow cukes and place in a bottle when they are just forming. Cuke in a bottle! Grow mellons-let them scribe their name in the skin when the mellons are about the size of a fist. When picked there is their name on their mellon. Watermellons are the best. Happy gardening!

2012-03-18T16:09:53.000Z

REPORT ABUSE

Garden Guru

burpee

For flowers plant annual flowers that they can direct sow, like sunflower, zinnias  nasturtiums, and marigolds. They are easy to plant and they come up fast.

Have them plant easy vegetables and quick to produce.

For vegetables early in the spring choose loose head  lettuce, radishes, short snap pea, and tiny carrots. They like it cool.

Later when it warms up plant bush beans, cucumbers, summer squash and maybe a tiny pumpkin like ‘Jack Be Little’ or ‘Baby Boo’. Once the temperature stays above 55 degrees.

Many vegetables come in fun colors  and shapes like purple beans,  red lettuce, and white pumpkins

2012-03-21T09:04:53.000Z

REPORT ABUSE

Soil Stomper

NewYorkMillet

Hi GardeningMom!

I recently came across a post by Theresa Loe on the Bupree blog. It's all about starting small with your kids. My niece loved the idea of growing one seed in a cup. Maybe your kids will too!

http://www.burpeehomegardens.com/Blog/2012/03/16/three-simple-ways-to-engage-kids-with-gardening.html

2012-03-22T09:11:48.000Z

REPORT ABUSE

Soil Stomper

GardeningMom